Back to Massachusetts

Happy Easter, dear friends.  And Happy Passover.  I’m in the Tampa airport, heading back to New England for the third time in less than a month. Dad is in the hospital.  He wasn’t well when we were there for mom’s funeral, had failed dramatically since leaving the hospital and going into rehab.  And yesterday he was bad enough to warrant another trip to the hospital.

I’m not sure if he’ll rally this time.  The guy is tough…cross country skiing well into his eighties, hiking, biking, traveling…he and Annette never stopped.  He even went to yoga with me a couple years ago. Wish I’d gotten a picture of him doing  the downward facing dog.  used to tell him, “I want to be like you when I grow up.”

But he’s not good…at least he wasn’t when my sisters were there last night…didn’t recognize anyone, agitated, trying to pull out IV lines and oxygen.  It hurts me just to think of it…just hoping and praying that whatever meds they gave him last night settled him and gave him some peace.

Mom’s funeral was lovely.  The music was beautiful and I was so moved by the people came, so very grateful to them and to all who’ve sent messages of support and condolences  John rented an old farmhouse in the Berkshires with beds for everyone…kids and grandkids who had time to go for a short hike on the Appalachian Trail, played cards, eat, drink laugh and get caught up on each other’s lives.  It was so good.  I wonder if we’ll be renting it again soon.

And on a happier note, Jerry is doing really well…three meals a day (mushed up in blender) and  down to 1 1/2 cans of feeding tube formula.  Well on his way to steak and a baked potato!  And minimal coughing.  I drive him crazy staring at him every time he coughs…so scared he’s aspirating food and on his way to pneumonia.  He may miss me during these many trips to MA but I’m sure it’s a nice break not to have me watching him every minute!

Who knows what this week will bring.  The realization that life is fragile and precious, that none of us will get out of this alive, that we need to come to terms with our own mortality has been so “in my face” these days.  Still, it’s Easter…a reminder that light shines in the darkness, good wins over evil, kindness will ultimately trump hate  ( my stupid iPad automatically puts a capital T on trump…what’s that all about?)

Say a prayer for my dad and for Annette.  They have been so joined at the hip that it was only very recently in their over forty year marriage that she went grocery shopping without him.  I prayed all the way to the airport…May they have peace, may they have joy may they have courage and loving kindness.  And may all of you have the same.

 

21 thoughts on “Back to Massachusetts

  1. So sorry you are having to face this but glad you have such a strong support team of friends and family. Prayers go with you.

    Jerri 521 Cedarwood Lane Venice, FL 34293 941-445-4118

    “Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud.” Maya Angelou

  2. Best wishes Mary. You looked good in class yesterday. I wish you well on your trip North. Thinking of you. Elin

  3. Praying for peace and safe travels!

  4. Hugs and prayers, my friend. Safe travels. Love, Gayle

  5. Wendie Highsmith

    Mary-And May you, as well.

    Love, Wendie

  6. Prayers for you and all of your family on this Easter morning and always. May God keep you and hold you close during these most difficult times.

    Gail and Lou

  7. Mary – my thoughts and prayer are with you, your family and your Dad.

  8. Oh, Mary…so sad to hear this. I hope your dad is feeling better by the time you get there. One look at your face will surely bring him comfort! Healing thoughts coming his way. On another note, I am happy to hear of Jerry’s progress. Here’s a book for him to read while he drinks his mushed-up meals (though I don’t know if this link and image will show up in my comment): https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/61VWS87XR8L.jpg
    In case it doesn’t, it’s a book called “Mush!” by Patricia Seibert.

  9. Praying for you, your Dad, Annette, and the entire family. May all have peace and hope during this Easter time. Safe travels!

  10. Big hug !!!

  11. Barbara Greenberg

    So very sad to read this news today. My thoughts and prayers are with you as you, so soon again, make a sad journey home. Hugs and always love, Barb

  12. Prayers for healing and for peace for you and your family, Mary.

  13. Thinking of you with love and prayers.

  14. My dear Mary what can be said my prayer for you and all your family is the same peace, joy courage and acceptance . I am sending all my love . Paula

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  15. I‘m so sorry for all that you are going through at this time and hope you find peace with your loving extended family, feeling the joy of having each other in the world and sharing precious memories. We are thinking of you with love and hope, and are grateful for Jerry’s continued progress. Stay strong, dear friend.

  16. And peace be with you- much love to your dad, Annette, your family, you- 💗

  17. Happy Easter Mary…this is a new beginning and hopefully your Dad’s condition will improve as you visit him!
    I’m sorry for the loss of your Mom and now a return trip to be with your Dad! I am so glad to hear that Jerry’s making a good recovery…finally! So much on you but it is said that God won’t give you more than you can handle…I no, crazy sometime! You are a strong, loving person and I so admire you. Looking forward to seeing you soon on the beach my dear friend. Thoughts and prayers are with you! Love, Pam

  18. Deirdre Christman

    I’m so sorry you’re going through such sad and difficult times right now., Mary. That said, I’m glad you’re able to do what you really want to do: support your family. It sounds like your mother’s funeral was a perfect way for your family to share memories and strengthen their connection to one another.

    Sending you love

  19. Susie Zavodnyik

    You are all in my thoughts and prayers.
    My poor, dear Mary! At least Jerry is improving

  20. Oh Mary! So close together. Peace peace peace and deeper peace for all. Love Linds

    >

  21. Mary, you are in my thoughts and prayers. I very glad Jerry is improving every day. Safe travels ! Sending hugs.

Leave a Reply

