Eleven Good Things

  1. image Jerry is out of ICU.
  2. Most of the drainage tubes are out
  3. He’s getting good nutrition through a feeding tube (problems still with swallowing)
  4. He’s up and walking around several times a day
  5. His a-fib seems to be getting under control.
  6. doesnt need oxygen any more.
  7. The surgery itself went perfectly
  8. His room is big and beautiful.
  9. Erin has been a breath of fresh air and saved my life and my sanity
  10. Sean is coming tomorrow
  11. I got my hair cut just before all this began and so even if I look like I’ve been hit by a truck, my hair looks great.

Bad things??? I’ll keep the list very short

1. Swallowing issues are a huge concern. Working on that

2. Every decision made takes forever and they second guess each other and once they do decide on a course of action it takes another six to ten hours to actually do anything.

3  My back is killing me  (it is all about me, right?)  and before you say anything, I AM taking care of  myself …chiropractor, icing it, walking, yoga in the hospital room)

Finally, one last purely good and beautiful thing. Ever since we got here ten days ago, every once in awhile we’d here Brahms Lulaby. I assumed it was someone’s ringtone.  Erin commented that whoever it was, she was everywhere. We heard it in the ICU, the surgical waiting room, and on the seventh floor.  Nope, it’s not a ring tone. When a baby is born here, the music is sent through the entire hospital. If it goes through the sequence twice without stopping, it’s twins. (Yesterday). How absolutely wonderful.  My eyes fill up every time I hear it. Two babies already this morning.

Be well. You are all much loved.

18 thoughts on “Eleven Good Things

  1. Ann Marie Mowry Jagodowski

    I just got chills with the Brahms Lullaby story. Sending you all a big hug.

  2. This is all, well mostly all, great news, Mary! I especially loved the story about Brahms Lullaby! Sending healing thoughts and love to you and the family.

  3. Wonderful to get mostly great news. So sorry to hear your back is still an issue. And what a beautiful thing for a hospital to do! I wonder how long this has been their practice…Brenna and Kaylee were both born there so sometime after their births. Just an amazing idea! Love to you all!

  4. Wendie Highsmith

    Mary-Thank you for the mostly good news. Dealing with the hospital thing never goes smoothly unless the exception is MD Anderson.

    Glad you a taking care of yourself. Lullaby and good night—

    Wendie

  5. Teared up with news of unknown new borns always in prayer I we speak to you next week before I go skiing. Love you both xoxo Paula

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  6. Brahm’s Lullaby? How wonderful . . and how wonderful of you to mention that soothing comfort. (I had to stop and listen to it: (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5jXyI9gmijU). I hope you and Jerry have many more soothing, comforting days ahead. Love.

  7. Deirdre Christman

    Definitely good news about Jerry, despite lots more work to be done. So sorry about your back! I hope Price can help you; I think he’s terrific – but my back was not killing me, just hurt and woke me up at night. I could ignore the pain. Lovely story about the lullabye. Just what you want to hear in a hospital.

    Do you need anything? Remember, I love laundry and errands!

  8. Mary, you’re back issues could possibly be a combination of great stress and a bit of back strain! Use a heating pad and rest!!!

  9. Love you Mary! Wish I lived closer to bring you chocolate or coffee or a good meal, sending hugs and prayers.<3

  10. What a beautiful way to welcome a new life into the world!

  11. Love it all! Glad about the hair, especially.

    >

  12. I was just thinking, like Lynne expresses, about “great stress,” when our body tightens in protective defense to our fears and concerns. In time, as Jerry’s strength returns and his swallowing issues resolve, your back spasms and pain should subside. In the meantime, it sounds like you are doing all you can to take care of yourself and Jerry. If only we could accelerate the healing process after major surgery, but we know it is a process that can’t be rushed. It sounds like each day Jerry shows improvements…that’s the great news…but your body may be on high alert, unwilling to relax until you believe he is completely out of the woods. In the meantime, please know that we all love you guys and believe our collective hopes will promise a full recovery for you both. May the lullaby bring you peace.

  13. What s gift at such a difficult time!

  14. You are loved too…take care of yourselves. xo Thanks for keeping us up to date.
    PS I love the idea of playing the lullaby – just perfect!

  15. Babies, Brahms – Hope is Alive!!!
    Thanks to Barb for the link.
    Love to all of you,
    Mary

  16. Mary, hope Jerry is continuing to improve each day! So glad Erin was there with you and now Sean…our kids
    Are great support! So really neat about The lullaby…has to bring a smile every time you hear it now!
    Hopefully Jerry will be able to go to the rehab place you want when he is ready. I’ll let you know if I hear of a good one. You are both in my thoughts and prayers. Hugs, Pam 🙏❤️

  17. Mary, stay healthy. Take care of yourself! Hopefully the swallowing issue will be better soon. Side effect of the stroke? Hopefully not. Glad he’s off thr ICU. It’s so overstimulatiing.xo

  18. Sending love and healing thoughts to you both . No reply necessary just want you to known I care . Paula

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

