Taking Turns Being Sick

1897668_10151975339800875_1348702621_n

Okay, so every week or so when we were in Houston, I’d say to Jerry, “Don’t you dare get sick until I’m done. Then you can have your turn.”  And good guy that he was, he patiently waited.  He waited over a year after my surgery to have his stroke.

So now it’s Jerry’s turn again…bypass surgery tomorrow.  He’s been in Sarasota Memorial since Monday while they take him off blood thinners and hook him up to a heparin drip and keep a eye on him to make sure he doesn’t have  a stroke.  We went in on Monday and I wasn’t feeling great.  My back was killing me (stupid woman who thinks she can try out her grandkids trampoline AND lift a heavy suitcase for the trip home from Texas) and I had the beginning of a cold…shallow cough and drippy nose…nothing so awful.

But it got awful as the day wore on and when I left Jerry that evening, I came home and fell into bed…and got sicker and sicker and didn’t go to the hospital to be with Jerry yesterday.  I couldn’t.  I couldn’t even function.  We had plans to (get this) work on our tax returns and play cards.  Fun, huh?  Anyway, I couldn’t manage a trip to the hospital and was worried about giving Jerry whatever I had.  Fever, chills, aches, diarrhea, vomiting, coughing and sneezing.  Damn.

Went to the doctors today.  Honestly, I’m better today.  And it’s the flu.  So now I’m on Tamaflu and I got permission to go see my husband as long as I wore a mask and gloves and sat as far away from him as possible.  Stayed a couple hours and now I’m home, hoping that since I’m better today than I was yesterday that I’ll be even better tomorrow.

So I’m heading to the hospital bright and early in the morning and I’ll post something on the blog when he comes out of surgery.  Poor guy…I haven’t been the best caregiver these days.

Prayers, please, mostly for Jerry but also for his pathetic wife.

Love to all…

24c2b6aab49827c13074152ee2bdbdb5

26 thoughts on “Taking Turns Being Sick

  1. Wendie Highsmith

    Mary! Do get well!! Many thoughts and prayers with Jerry!

    Love, Wendie

  2. Susie Zavodnyik

    Will be praying for your family!

  3. Pathetic wife….my eye! Even if u can’t be near him, he knows u r with him! Get real…you’ll feel better in a few days & so will he…ratchet up your patience quota…go to bed early & put your trust in the Light…Jerry will be in good hands…..even if they’re not yours!

    Jerri 521 Cedarwood Lane Venice, FL 34293 941-445-4118 Jerri8@comcast.net

    >

  4. We are with you and will keep constant caring vibes flowing your way for an excellent outcome for jerry & for you to feel better soon. Rest…you will have more than enough to do to support jerry’s recovery.

  5. I hope both of you feel MUCH better tomorrow! I’ll be rooting for you. 🙂
    At least you won’t have to shovel: we’re expecting 8 – 12 inches of snow tomorrow! Most school districts have already cancelled school. On another note, today’s high temperature reached 52 degrees. Ah, New England!

  6. Thinking of you both!!! Please update about Jerry as soon as you can. Take good care of yourself too. The caregiver seems to be always the last to get the care she needs. Glad you went to doc! !

  7. Had that flu thing even after a flu shot. It was BAD!!!! Remember that fear is the absence of faith and Jerry will be fine even with all the worrying. What is it about worrying? I think we are afraid not to worry…like we can “pay our dues” by worrying and that will make things go well. Prayers for Jerry and for you, though you owe him BIG time! All will be well, just stressful while you wait! god is with you as he has proven in the past!

  8. Coincidentally as your message was coming in, I was writing to you asking time for Jerrys surgery tomorrow. Always have you both in my prayers. God bless.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  9. I’m praying for you both . Kathy gave a micro wave bean bag for my back helped would you liked to drop off at your house send address if yes LOVE YOU BOTH Paula

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  10. Sending beautiful golden thoughts your way. Remember, keep your eyes on the prize. The two of you standing up in the bleachers cheering on those little swimmers of yours! I can see you now. Can you too?

  11. Hang in there and remind Jerry to BREATHE!

  12. You have the prayers🙏 Love you both! G.

  13. Wishing you both strength, faith, and hope. You’ll be in my thoughts tomorrow.

  14. Hi Mary, so sorry to hear that you’re sick…probably caught it on the plane ride home! Glad to hear you’re feeling better today but do take care of yourself. I know, easy for me to say as Jerry has surgery tomorrow!
    I will certainly say those special prayers for both Jerry and you too! Please let me know if there’s anything I can do for you! You will both be in my thoughts and prayers my friend. Hugs, Pam

  15. You’ll be in our prayers. Hope you’re feeling better and wishing Uncle Jerry a speedy recovery.

  16. Jacqueline Neiman

    Oh Mar – when it rains it pours huh? Take care of yourself. Remember, you can’t pour from an empty cup!

    >

  17. I KNOW Jerry will come through with flying colors! Love to you both – may you both feel well soon xxoo

  18. So sorry for you and fro Jerry, Mary. But I know you’ll both come through strong. Love, Sonia

  19. Thank goodness for your sense of humor! Sorry for the misery happening. Love and prayers for you both. Perfect quote graphic. Love, Barb

  20. Thinking of you, praying for you. Looking forward to tomorrow’s post

    Good vibes

  21. Michael and Carol Malott

    Prayers and hugs to you both.

  22. Love and good vibrations to both of you.

  23. Prayers coming your way for you and Jerry. Will pray surgery goes well and that you feel better as well. Boy, when it rains, it pours. If you need to call in the “reserves”, I am here just below Naples. Whatever you may need, please.
    Gail

  24. you are both in my thoughts and prayers xo

  25. LOVE AND PRAYERS FOR YOU AND HUBBY MARY.

    LOVE GLADYS

  26. Sorry to hear all this and sending love and prayers your way. Looking forward to hearing how today went. stay strong, Mary!

Leave a Reply

