It’s All Good

image

Actually it isn’t ALL good (is it ever?) but enough is good that I choose to look at that and ignore the “small stuff”.  Jerry continues to get better day by day.  The human brain is such a magnificent thing.  Honestly, when I think about where Jerry was two months ago and where he is today, I am stunned.  He has speech therapy three times a week at the rehab place connected with the hospital.  I used to go with him…he needed me to drive anyway..and I’d take notes so that Mary Anne could do follow up on the other two days.

Now Jerry is going on his own and telling me what he did when he comes home and together we’re figuring out what he wants to do with Mary Anne who has some great ideas of her own.  The other day she asked him how to fix a garbage disposal and he told her and wrote the steps down one by one and she went home and fixed her own disposal.  One of these days, he’ll have to tell me how…I never learned.  I just let him fix ours when it quits on us.

So with Erinn at speech and Mary Anne here and Jerry’s own brain’s ability to heal, he’s on his way.  And we’re back to a new normal.  We do have the spectre of possible bypass surgery in January hanging over our heads but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.

We’re heading to Texas at the end of the month to see the kids.  My niece, Jill, is getting married in early December and Erin and my niece, Jackie, are having a bridal shower for her at Jackie’s house in Houston.  Erin and I along with Lana and Calli will go to Houston for the weekend, picking up Carly at the airport on our way into town.  Jerry will hang out in Flower Mound with the boys…Brent and Declan.  Then Jerry and I will be around for Halloween (Declan is going to be Big Papi this year…no clue how they’ll pull that off) and we’ll fly back on November 1.

So much to be thankful for…wish it were the same for everyone.  We were thrilled that Matthew barely touched us but horrified with the devastation in Haiti.  North Carolina didn’t come through it too easily either.  And we’re loving the fall weather (yes we do have seasons here, my friends)  It was 68 when I headed out to yoga this morning and even this afternoon it’s only in the low 80s with no humidity…perfect for reading out by the pool.  Jerry went in.  I didn’t.  It just wasn’t warm enough.  But I assume we’ll eat on the lanai tonight.  It’s too beautiful to be inside.  Time to open up the house and turn off the air conditioning.  Yay!

My sister, Paula, recommended a book to me called Beyond Words:What Animals Think and Feel.  I’m pretty sure the author focuses on three animals…elephants, wolves and killer whales.  I’ve been thinking a lot about animals in captivity ever since I saw Black Fish which soured me on Sea World for life.  I’m reading about the elephants at the moment and it’s pretty incredible what researchers are finding….and humbling to all of us humans who think we have the monopoly on intelligent behavior (do we?  I don’t think so)  I keep thinking about how much Lana would love this book if she were just a bit older.  Some parts she’d love right now.  Some parts might be too technical and I’m not sure how much she’d enjoy some of the longer descriptive pieces.  Still, I am loving it.

Other recent reads:  Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow…loved it, dying to see the musical.  All We Have Left by Wendy Mills..a YA book about 9/11.  Liked this one a lot.  The Tsar of Love and Tchno by Anthony Marra…an incredibly well written book that I didn’t love (sorry, Deirdre…I guess I just don’t appreciate good writing)  Yes, it was spectacular and yes, it’s unbelievable that someone who is only 32 years old could write like this but I just didn’t love it.  Thirty Girls by Susan Minot…I liked this one.  I know it got mixed reviews but I liked it.  It’s about an abduction in a girls’ school in the Sudan…Commonwealth by Ann Patchett …fabulous.  This Must Be the Place by Maggie O’Farrell…love all her books.  Before the Fall by Noah Hawley…not particularly literary but it certainly held me…and Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi…loved it.

So life goes on and we keep putting one foot in front of another…as do all of you.  Love to all.

image

10 thoughts on “It’s All Good

  1. Love hearing this good news – and yes it IS good! Travel safely and enjoy your kiddos – let’s hope Declan can add a ring to his costume 😊🎃 love to all

  2. Sounds like you two are making great progress! So happy to hear that and that you are
    both up to travel and enjoying family time with all. I have
    A hold at our library for ‘Commonwealth’ and hope my turn comes up soon. Still in a bit of awe as our pictures help us remember the beauty we experienced in Ireland!

  3. Glad Jerry is improving. Have a wonderful trip and I will see you when you get back. We are headed down next week.

  4. Wonderful hearing such good news from you. Prayers continue … Have a safe trip, … AND ENJOY THE FAMILY.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  5. So glad things are back to “normal”!

  6. Deirdre Christman

    You two continue to amaze me. Must be the positive attitude and the ability to turn lemons into limoncello!

  7. So glad to hear Jerry is improving so much. You are right…the brain is marvelous. Have a wonderful trip! Also glad that I’m not the only one who didn’t love The Tsar. I didn’t get the last story, in particular. I guess I’m not smart enough to figure it out. See you in November. Mary Ann

  8. Happy to hear that things are moving in the right direction for Jerry. Have a safe trip to TX and enjoy the time with your family (as I know you will)!

  9. That Jerry is improving leaps & bounds is wonderful news. It sounds like you have a lot of family fun to enjoy and time to further Jerry’s recuperation. Whatever you both decide concerning surgery, Jerry will be much stronger and able to participate more equally in deciding the next best steps. I feel very optimistic.

  10. Wendie Highsmith

    Really great to hear Jerry is making such good progress! It’s that Ginley grit in action.

    Love, Wendie

Leave a Reply

