One Week Down and Muddling Along

imageIt was just a week ago that Jerry was rushed to the hospital with a stroke.  One week…Lord it feels like a lifetime!

So how are we doing?  Wellll, I guess we’re okay.  They seem to have gotten his blood thinner meds regulated.  It only took until yesterday to do that.

And he’s certainly made some progress.  Can give his name, my name, the kids’ names (if I give him clues like “She lives in Texas) and even the grandkids names. He can give his address, count pretty high (gets tired of me asking), point to common objects, follow two step directions, name some common objects, tell time and (my least favorite) is an excellent back seat driver.  He may be forced to get well simply because he hates the way I drive!

Best of all, he has begun to laugh and smile again.  Every day I ask him how he’s feeling (emotionally) and he says 8.

Great, I say.  I’m only a 4.

he shrugs.

Today I fooled him.  How are you doing on a continuum from 1-5?

8, he says.

Can’t say 8, I tell him.  1-5.  And he’s laughing.

Okay, 5, he says.

Nice, says I.  I’m a 2.

He shrugs.

He doesn’t seem to care about much.  He cared that Ellyse lost her tennis match at the Connecticut Open yesterday.  We followed the score in real time and he was glued to the iPad.  And he cared that Germany won the Women’s Soccer…he wanted Sweden.  Guess that’s a start.

Erin is coming on Friday.  Sean is coming later in September.  Glad about both.  Need someone else now and need someone later.  Good kids.

We have lots of appointments this week..three speech, one with his primary care and one with the neurologist.  I’ve got a ton of questions. I’m trying to get a copy of his medical records so I can see exactly what happened but so far I haven’t gotten them.  Long story…should have been able to access them online but there’s nothing there.  Damn.

Photo above …reading the paper out on the lanai.  We spend our afternoons pretty much the way we always have…on the lanai and in the pool, floating,exercising, relaxing, reading.  I honestly don’t know what he can read and what he can’t.  It might depend on the context.  Words in isolation…not so good.  Newspaper…no clue.

So that’s it for now, my friends.  Thanks for the prayers and good thoughts.  Keep the Sullivan Family in your thoughts and prayers this week.  My dear friend, Kate, left us on Tuesday.  It was time but oh, it’s so hard.  I’m so glad I got to see her at the end of July and say goodbye.  I’m lucky to have known her, lucky to have been her friend.  She was one very special woman and I am beyond sad that she left us so soon.

 

12 thoughts on “One Week Down and Muddling Along

  1. Oh Mary, I’m so very sad about Kate. I only met once but she became so close thru my prayers. Sounds as though Jerry is doing very well. It’s payback to him what you’re doing. God bless. You both.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Mary, I am so sorry you have to go through this painfully difficult time, and I am so sorry for the loss of your dear friend. Feel all of the love of your family and friends, and DO let them help you!! Love you my dear, all I can say is one day at a time and make sure you take care of yourself. ❤

  3. Catherine Waldron

    Mary, I’m so sorry that Jerry has had a stroke. I have been keeping both of you close to my heart. I can’t think of anybody I would rather have on my team, advocating for me, than you. He’s a lucky guy.

    I am also so sorry that you are grieving for your great friend, Kate. You knew it was inevitable but one is never ready to say goodbye. As you said in your last post, she is now free.

    Please know that another of your friends is thinking and praying for you both!

    Take care, Cathy

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. Please let me know if I can do anything for you! Xoxo

    • Mary, praying for you and Jerry. From personal experience my only advice is prayer, patience and perseverance.

  5. Wendie Highsmith

    Mary-Hang in there. Glad Erin and Sean will be coming.

    Love and prayers,

    Wendie

  6. Thank you for this hopeful update. Glad your kids are coming in shifts. Love to Gerry and extra hugs to you. Hoping that your at a three in a week or two’s time ❤️

    >

  7. loiscbrooks@comcast.net

    Mary. So sorry you’re going through all of this. I’ll keep you both in my prayers, as you know , they are heard. I lost my dearest childhood friend last year to breast cancer. I certainly can feel your pain. Wish there was something I could do for you.    I’ll continue with prayers….   Stay well, Love, Lois

  8. Oh Mary, I’ve been reading the past week postings and praying for patience and healing for you both. I have never walked what you’re walking but send my love and support.
    It’s been a rough week here too, although not in my immediate family.
    Thank goodness for the grandchildren brightening our lives…

  9. This has to be all so hard for you Mary….it always tougher on the caregiver! So glad to hear that the kids are coming to give you support! Please let me know if there is anything I can do. I think of you often and the prayers continue! Miss you!😎🐢🌴

  10. Mary, Our thoughts and prayers are with you and Jerry. I can’t believe it was only a month ago that we were touring Ireland together. Take care of yourself as well as Jerry.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  11. Mary, don’t forget your laugh therapy. It sounds like Jerry is trying to signal his.

Leave a Reply

