Dodged that bullet again!

imageWe are so used to the routine by now. We come in on Sunday night and head over to M D Anderson on Monday morning. First the blood work. If I’m lucky, the waiting room isn’t standing room only on. It usually IS just bout standing room only. It wasn’t busy this time. Not sure why.  And if I’m lucky, I get a pro who can find that vein easily and painlessly. Wasn’t all that lucky this time. Veins weren’t all that cooperative and she was a newbie.

Next comes the CT scan. If you’re lucky, that takes about two hours because you have to drink a prep drink for contrast and that takes about an hour. Not so lucky with that…they were really backed up and we were there for about four hours. Good thing we have electronics to amuse us (although I don’t have my Kindle…left it on the plane ..not happy about that. ).

Anyway the next day is the meeting with Dr. Ho to go over the results. He has a new PA…lovely woman who, after introducing herself and explaining where Kevin, the previous PA went, got right to it. And with the thing that counts we were very lucky.

Everything looks just fine, she said.  We compared your scans with the last ones…absolutley no change.  Numbers from blood work just perfect.

I really thought it would be fine but it is always a huge relief to hear the words.  Mentally I had already started figuring out what we’d do if the news was not good.  We’re going to England and Ireland this summer and I had insisted Jerry get our trip insurance before my checkup in case we needed to cancel because I was going to be stuck at Anderson this summer.  Seemed to make sense to get the insurance  before the tests rather than after.

So life is good.   Dr Ho thinks they should use me for one of their wipe out cancer ads.   I never take this good fortune for granted and I imagine I never will.  We’ll be back again in nine months for another checkup.  One of these times he’ll stretch to a year but not yet.

When we were heading toward MDA this morning I saw a sign on one of the hospital buildings…The Sheikh Zayed Al Nahan Building…I googled it.  Evidently the President of the United Arab Emirates and his family have a charitable foundation and in gratitude for all the people of their country who have been treated at Anderson, donated $150,000,000. It’s being used primarily to research pancreatic cancer. What an amazing gift.

So my friends, I’m good to go for another nine months.  Hoping all of you are well…love you all.

image

 

 

32 thoughts on “Dodged that bullet again!

  1. Great news is always good to hear

  2. You’ve made my day, my friend ! Congratulations !

  3. Great news Mary. Prayers answered.

    Going to Ireland this summer too with my two daughters. First time there and I cannot wait. Staying on the west coast – Dingle, Galway, Westport, Killarney, etc. We will have to compare notes!

  4. WONDERFUL NEWS !!!!! Looking Forward to your return. Love to you and Jerry Paula Sent from my iPhone

    >

  5. What a HUGE relief for all your friends and family! Bet you are floating on air today!

  6. So glad to hear the good news!

  7. Wendie Highsmith

    Mary –Such good news! I know the relief. Keep on doing what you’re doing!

    Love, Wendie

  8. Super news, Mary!

  9. JOY, JOY, JOY!!! Good news is the best! Will keep sending good vibs your way for the next 9 months. Hope you Kindle was found.

  10. Dear Mary, we are so happy to hear of your good news . What a relief it is !! Now you can relax and enjoy the rest of your trip. Have fun! Then of course is the summer trips , enjoy, be safe, take lots of photos as we will want yo see them.

    Kitchen packed up , all cupboards and drawers empty – now just have to do clothes.

    We are going to trivia, will miss you both tonight. Send some answers via telepathy.

    Our red bud is blooming and yes it’s time to remove the orange snow fence. !

    Sent from my iPad

    Joy

    >

  11. I’m all smiles for you, my friend. Your relief was plainly seen in your words.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  12. You are truly blessed. Don’t think it gets any easier, it doesn’t. You are doing super good. Keep it up.
    Lou

  13. What an ordeal, but what a happy result! So glad!

  14. All wonderful news, Mary. So happy to hear. Sounds like you have an exciting summer ahead of you.
    Great for the very generous donation!!!

  15. Such beautiful news. You are a miracle. Love you Linda

    >

  16. You made me happy today, Mary.

  17. Mary, my friend, I love this routine! Breathing better, smiling broadly, walking lightly. So proud of you, your aplomb, your humor, your perspective. Lots of love. Eager to see you.

  18. Barb Greenberg

    Great news! Glad to hear about your travel plans to London! I ❤️ London and wish I could ride along. Enjoy the trip! Hugs and happy travel

  19. Very good news Mary.

  20. Wow, you are the bearer of hope, my friend, awesome role! Love, Dorothy

  21. Yay Mary!! Good going! Keep up the good work!

    Love, el

  22. HAPPY HAPPY News, Mary! So happy for you and all of us!

  23. Jacqueline Neiman

    Wonderful news!!!!

    >

  24. I am so happy to hear this news. Sharing your journey has probably changed many of us reading your blog. I felt like I witnessed the power of so many caring people who held you in their thoughts. But it is your strength of character that created such a loving community around you. Enjoy the rest of your trip and all you can look forward to.

  25. Time to celebrate! Love ya, Mary

  26. A huge sigh of relief! Good for you, Mary!

  27. So happy to start my day with your positive news! Wilma

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  28. So, so happy for you Mary! Now you can fully enjoy the rest of your trip!😎🐢🌴

  29. Yea!!!!! Enjoy your upcoming travels!

  30. Such joyous News!! So happy for you, now it is time to relax and celebrate!! ❤

  31. Gladys Lazarcheck

    OH WHAT WONDERFUL NEWS MARY! I HOPE AND PRAY IT NEVER COMES BACK. AND TO BE ABLE TO DO ALL THE TRAVELING IS WONDERFUL TOO.
    I WISH FOR YOU GOOD HEALTH AND HAPPINESS. PLEASE KEEP US POSTED.

    LOVE GLADYS

    • Susette Bryan

      I am so glad to hear your good news. Enjoy your travels (Ireland!) Greetings from VENICE, Love, Susette

Leave a Reply

