New Year’s Resolutions

IMG_3512

How many carrots for the reindeer?

Why do I make them? They’re always the same.  Eat less junk, exercise more, meditate, be more grateful, get organized, take my meds (I am SO sloppy about this), floss, be kinder and more patient (with myself and Jerry, mostly).  Oh well, another year has begun and it was pizza for lunch (with arugula but…) and snacked on some chips and dip with Jerry watching the Patriots.  And I can’t go out and walk…it’s raining!

Another New Year’s Resolution:  Do not decide that just because you have half a tank of gas, you can make it another three hours on 75 coming back from Texas after Christmas.  Jerry and I usually drive in three hour shifts.  He’s pretty cautious when it comes to gas.  Me…I hate to stop for gas unless it’s absolutely necessary.  So we left Texas (30 degrees out)on December 29 after scraping the windows with our credit cards (thank you, Trevina, for the tip) and drove to Pensacola the first day. The next morning, Jerry started out and I took over after three hours with a quick switch at a rest stop just before Rt 10 connected to 75.  Then, as my time was nearly up and we were five miles from an exit (and the gas was nearly gone) we hit the mother of all traffic jams.  We could have walked to the exit faster.  And we watched the gas light go on and the the pointer get lower and lower and had visions of hiking to the exit and then lugging a gallon of gas back to a car that most likely would just add to the traffic jam we were already in.  Lucky us…we coasted into the gas station on fumes about an hour later.

Christmas was wonderful.  Erin had a houseful of people…Sean and Carly from California and Jerry and me from Florida …and managed to feed us all (very well, I might add…I think I gained two pounds…yuk) and find a place for everyone to sleep and hang out.  It was so good to see Sean and Carly.  We hadn’t seen them since the wedding.  I just wish they didn’t live clear across the country.  It is way too far away.

We went to Florida Studio Theater yesterday to see Butler.  If you EVER have the opportunity to see it, GO.  The play is fabulous and the acting was incredible.  It’s the story of a runaway slave who is seeking sanctuary in a union fort.  Since the Fugitive Slave Law is still in effect, the commander of the fort says that by law he has to return him to his owner.  I cannot remember a play where I have laughed so much over such a serious problem.  The play was written by Richard Strand.  I need to check him out. He’s an incredible writer.

Rainy day today.  We NEVER have days like today.  Well, we RARELY have days like today.  It started raining at yoga (not fun) but stopped just before I was ready to call it quits.  And Jerry, who goes with me on Sunday, was a real trouper…in shorts while I arrived with warm pants, long underwear, long sleeve tee AND fleece and gloves and socks.  I am such a wimp.  So we’re having a quiet Sunday.  Nice.  I cleaned out a closet in the kids’ room and have a pile of things for Goodwill that the Littles have outgrown (we’ll get new stuff for the California kids when they start arriving).

More movies–Room broke my heart and The Big Short made me so angry.  Both spectacular.  Honestly, I can’t remember when I’ve seen so many really good movies in a six week period.  And books…not a lot of reading these days.  Jerry and I listened to The Big Short on the way to Texas and a Susan Hill mystery called The Various Haunts of Men on the way home.  Loved The Big Short and liked the Susan Hill book (but if we didn’t need it to take us across many states, it definitely could have been shorter)  I read a couple short books in the last couple weeks. One was  “kid” book called Nest, that I loved but didn’t think was a kid book.  Target audience is upper elementary–fourth or fifth grade–but I would never recommend it to Lana.  It was heartbreaking…depressed mom commits suicide, twelve year old narrator trying to wade through grief and rage, kid next door getting abused.  Beautifully written–pitch perfect–but for a nine year old…don’t think so.  I read Plainsong (Kent Haruf)  I don’t know how I missed it when it first came out.  Absolutely beautiful.  Such a treasure.

Below are a few photos from Christmas.  Some were on Facebook but not all of you are Facebook fans.   Enjoy…and Happy New Year to each and every one of you.  I am so grateful to have you in my life and hope that 2016 will be your best year yet.

 

High tops...Calli's favorite gift!

High tops…Calli’s favorite gift!

He made it himself!

He made it himself!

IMG_3720

Explaining Minecraft to Uncle Sean

Best Christmas gift...unlimited iPad time on Christmas Day

Unlimited iPad time on Christmas Day

Jerry's Birthday (one month late!)

Jerry’s Birthday (one month late!)

 

Early morning snuggle

Early morning snuggle

8 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Those kids just keep getting cuter and cuter! Also, I love how the gleeful expression on Calli’s face as she “iPads away” is nearly the same as Jerry’s happy birthday face! Good luck with your resolutions, Mary, and Happy New Year to you all! Hope to see you one of these days… 🙂

  2. What beautiful grandchildren! I loved PLAINSONG!
    Have you seen NICKY’S FAMILY on Netflix? So moving!

  3. Sounds and looks like you had a wonderful time in Texas (glad you were safe!) it’s always Merry when kids are around….they do make it so much fun! Was beautiful here while you were gone…set or tied a lot of high quality temps…great for vacationers! I missed your blog…glad you’re back! Will see soon at Margi’s for breakfast! Welcome home and Happy New Year my friend!

  4. Loved your writing, but loved the photos even more. Such profound glee…warms the heart.
    Read your gas story and laughed out loud. On our first trip to Florida we were driving in our new car…three hour shifts…laughing and just being carried away with the newness and the adventure when suddenly lights started flashing. We totally forgot about putting gas in the car. I mean really forgot…we were miles and miles from the next exit and thankfully made the gas station before the last drop had dripped!

    Most of all my friend, forget the resolutions. I hope you and yours live life and enjoy good health. The rest is icing.
    🌺🌺🌺😎😎😎

  5. I wish only the best before you in the new year.

  6. Sounds perfect! Happy New Year, and see you soon!

  7. Great celebrations! I am scared to see Room but want to see it at the same time! I read the book and loved it though it was devastating. What do you think?

  8. Wendie Highsmith

    Mary-Happy New Year! New Year’s resolutions? Bah humbug

    Your Christmas sounds spectacular. Those Littles are adorable.

    We will see our Littles (and their parents) later this week when we meet up in San Jose, Costa Rica, for a family trip for two weeks. Our other daughter, Debbie, and husband, George, will be with us, too. I can hardly contain my excitement.

    I can often hear Elin shouting, “It’s only water, people,” when it rained during beach yoga. Did yoga more than once under the pavilion. How is she doing? I know she has had her challenges.

    Tell Trevina, Susie, and Geri hello for me. Is Jim’s coffee shop still going?

    Blessings, Wendie

Leave a Reply

