Castles and Cruising

 

 

Castle!

Castle!

image

In the courtyard

In the courtyard

Armor through the ages

Armor through the ages

Village below the castle

Village below the castle

Castle kitchen

Castle kitchen

Today I think it’s going to be just pictures. The internet comes and goes and even when I’ve hit “save draft” it’s not saving. And I wrote this big long thing that has disappeared.  I KNOW you’re all feeling SO sorry for me at this point.  If only ALL problems could be so small. So I’ll post the pictures and if I have time, I’ll write a bit.  In  a nutshell, we toured a castle in the morning and cruised all afternoon (very LAZY, LOVELY afternoon soaking in the sun and watching the world (and castles) go by

Cruising the Rhine

Cruising the Rhine

Chastity belt and assorted other "stuff"

Chastity belt and assorted other “stuff”

The castle was pretty interesting and the view from the top of the mountain was spectacular.  One interesting castle fact (actually it’s not a castle fact…It’s a middle ages fact.  Men did not make  their wives wear chastity belts  so they’d be faithful while the guys were on the Crusades saving the world for Jesus.  Women wore chastity belts while traveling so they wouldn’t get raped.

In the afternoon, as I said, we sat on the sundeck and cruised up the Rhine seeing castles and tiny villages and terraced farms and more castles and more villages and more farms…and soaking in the sun.  Life doesn’t get any better than this, my friends.

One thing I hadn’t really thought about when we planned the trip…that we would meet such interesting people from all over the USA and Australia and Canada and the UK…Yes, I think almost everyone on the ship is English speaking.  So many of them have been all over the world, have lived such amazing lives, are so accomplished.  I was talking to a wonderful woman from Utah today.  She said when she and her husband first started traveling they would sit there at dinner and pray no one asked them where they had been, where they were going next, what they had done.  Ummm, I told her, I taught school for 42 years and most of my travel has been to see my family.  Nope, haven’t been to Africa, China, the South Pole…not even Costa Rica.  And no, never lived in a foreign country…nope didn’t do Peace Corps… We both laughed.  A lot of people here are pretty impressive.  And a lot are awfully nice. And on the off chance that the Internet is working I’m going to try to send this

View of the Rhine from Markburg Castle

View of the Rhine from Markburg Castle

9 thoughts on “Castles and Cruising

  1. Great pictures AND text. Just looks so beautiful and you are apparently having perfect weather. Enjoy!

  2. Marvelous. I’m living vicariously through you! I love the trip you are taking me on today!

  3. Love living vicariously through you on this trip! Enjoy, dear friend!

  4. Cruising sounds wonderful to me! What are the temperatures like? Jerry looks pretty comfortable.

  5. You’re coming in loud and clear…love hearing everything! Enjoy!

  6. Coming in load and clear! Keep it coming! Enjoy

  7. Fantastic pictures Mary.

  8. I have taken the Rhine Cruise before, but have never gone to Budapest on the river. Are you going all the way there? Jim and I absolutely LOVED Budapest.
    Lou

  9. I still hear from a few of the people we met in our travels. Just another perk !

Leave a Reply

