Random Thoughts

La Jolla, CA

La Jolla, CA

Kate had surgery today.  It was long (over seven hours) and as far as I know she was awake for it all.  The doctors told her family they got most of the tumor but not all.  With Glioblastoma, it’s impossible to get it all.  Preliminary diagnosis is Stage 4 Glioblastoma.  She’ll have physical therapy first to help her regain use of the left side of her body.  Then she’ll most likely have chemo and radiation.  They’re waiting to see if she qualifies for a clinical trial that is beginning to show promising results.

Of course I immediately went on the internet to see what the prognosis was  for Stage 4 Glioblastoma…not good.  And the older the patient is, the worse it is.  However, the healthier the patient is going in (Kate was quite healthy) the better off she is. Keep her in your prayers, my friends.  She’s got a very rough road ahead.

We are in the midst of monsoon season here.  It used to rain every day in the summer…from about 4-6pm.  That was about it.  You could almost set your clock by the sky…from sunny and blue to gray to black to distant thunder to sprinkles to deluge and then back again. But this week (and we’ve had a couple weeks like this in the past few years) is more dark than light, more clouds than sun, and the transition is from gray to light rain to deluge to a glimpse of sun back to dark etc.  Obviously not great for pool.  Obviously not good for morning yoga.  Obviously not good for turtle patrol (and even worse for the turtles whose eggs are drowning in nests that are washed over or left in standing water.) And it’s not good for driving…scary driving these days with sudden squalls sending rivers of water down the road.  Oh well, this too shall pass.

Honestly, with the exception of the turtles (and a friend who has company who had their hearts set on long days at the beach) it doesn’t really bother me.  I can find all sorts of things to do….like today I was enormously productive.  I took a nice long nap.  I didn’t sleep well last night…stomach cramps (Thai food???) that wouldn’t go away and worry about Kate…so this afternoon, I read a bit and napped for a couple hours.  Rare for me but one more reason to love retirement.

A good friend sent me a notice…Fredrik Backman who wrote A Man Called Ove has another book out called My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You.  I’m not sure I could love anything the way I did Ove but I certainly will give it a try.  And another friend, Shary Marshall,  told me a hundred years ago (well maybe it was five years ago)about the work of Carol Dweck and her book, Mindset, that has the potential to revolutionize how we talk to kids, how we teach, how we coach and how we run a business.  Recommended it to Erin (because of the kids) and to Sean (because of business).  Turns out Sean’s company is having all their employees read it and discuss it.  It’s really about how we look at challenges, intelligence, mistakes, struggles and learning and how we see ourselves in all of it.  Great book.  Loved it. Just finished Shakespeare Saved My Life…another good one…about a college professor who teaches Shakespearean plays in a prison.

Maybe, just maybe, we’ll have a sunny day tomorrow…but if not, maybe I’ll just take another nap!

Park in La Jolla

Park in La Jolla

7 thoughts on “Random Thoughts

  1. Karen Rafferty

    I will pray and think of Kate – it’s an awful thing. My Dad had some treatment (not sure as I wasn’t involved) but no surgery. I hope she does well….xoxo

    • Mary, I have been praying for both Kate and Franni since I read this.Do you have a contact adress for Franni or any additional information on her illness and treatment. Thanks

  2. I will keep you and Kate in my thoughts. All our positive energy helped pull you through an almost impossible diagnosis; it will do the same for Kate. She is lucky, as we all are, to have you as a friend.

  3. So tough for Kate and all those who love her! I will keep her in my thoughts.

  4. Positive thoughts going to Kate. Hoping she can pull off as miraculous a recovery as you.

  5. Will pray for your friend, Kate. Wishing the very best for her.

    Please let me know how you like the book. I just read an excerpt, and it looks interesting. With school starting soon (ugh) I will probably run out of time to read for pleasure soon.

    Thank you for your uplifting posts, Mary. Love to you and Jerry.

  6. Perfect picture for such sad news.

Leave a Reply

