A Man Called Ove (again)

Hello my friends

This is going to be VERY short and I’ll write a longer blog post later.  Dad and Annette were here for six weeks and went home to chilly Massachusetts yesterday.  We were so glad they came. And the kids were here for a week…a perfect week of sand and sea and pool and sun.  We are such lucky people.

The main reason for the blog is that my brother, John, emailed this morning to say that my favorite book of the year (so far) is on sale at Amazon for $1.99 for Kindle.  Honestly, it made me laugh.  It made me cry.  It made me think.  I loved it.  You might want to check it out.  It’s called A Man Called Ove!

More later…I was up late last night and need to take a nap (in the pool!)  Life is so very good.

 

15 thoughts on “A Man Called Ove (again)

  1. Read it right after you mentioned that book first time. Loved it. Thanks again, Mary!

  2. I agree, loved this book! So glad all is going so well, enjoy!

  3. I will look into this. If you love it, I am sure I will love it too. Warm wishes to you & Jerry in paradise.

  4. Mary, thank you for the tip. Immediately ordered A Man Called Ove for $1.99!!!!

  5. Fabulous! Miss you!!

  6. Wendie Highsmith

    Mary-Love hearing about a book you love. I doubt I will ever be a Kindle girl, but I do buy books, usually used, from Amazon. You’ve had a grand winter. Spring is here…temporarily. They say we get the most snow in March and April. Not so much for March so far, but we have 11 more days. I will be in Florida, April 21-29. I hope we can get together. My Girl Scout reunion is the 24-26. Then some of us are going to Treasure Island beach the night of the 26. I hope I can get to Venice before or after. Cheers! Wendie

    _____

  7. I just ordered it. Don’t know when I’ll read it, but I have it!

  8. Mary, do you really think I can remember the title of your favorite book? I’m old! At least give me a hint! 🙂
    Love ya,
    Lynne

    • Ha ha…Lynne, you and Sean had the same complaint. Can you tell I was really tired this afternoon. The title of this blog is “A Man Called Ove (again)…title of the book? A Man Called Ove!

  9. Karen Rafferty

    Gosh I love you! xoxo

  10. Barbara Greenberg

    Hi Mary, miss your posts but am glad to see and hear about you, your friends and family. Thanks so much for the tip to us all about A Man Called Ove! I was just sitting here at the computer making a list of books that I wanted to borrow and at 1.99 who can resist!! Just today I finished The 100- Year Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared. Loved it. Tom Wolfe’s Back to Blood was another win for me but the aging hippie in me loves him! Have also been reading Rainbow Rowell’s works with Landline being the last on my list…not one I want to share with my granddaughters, 11, 12, and 13. Definitely an adult piece. Bob just downloaded Erick Larsen’s new book Dead Wake which I know will be fantastic (he was up half the night reading it!) All good thoughts to you, Jerry and your big beautiful family. I am renting a place in Florida for February 2016.. Wish I could do it this year but we just came back from San Diego (stayed 4 days on Coronado Island) it was wonderful and then Bob was in Las Vegas with his brother for the PAC 12 Basketball Championships. Now it is tax time. Now we are all basketball all the time through this month..all is well! Love you much..Barb

    Date: Fri, 20 Mar 2015 18:21:20 +0000 To: tucsonbarb@hotmail.com

  11. Thanks for the book recommendation. Just added it to my Kindle. Hope all is well!

  12. Never mind…found it in the title…(sigh)!

  13. I am in the middle of Ove now, and it makes me laugh and cry….I wish I had more time to dedicate to getting immersed in it. Thank you for the recommendation.

  14. I also have ashore amazing book to recommend. It is called “The Acorn People” by Ron Jones. A friend loaned it to me. I hope it’s still in print and that you can all find it!

Leave a Reply

