Chips and Dip

What, another post already?  Relax…you NEVER need to read them.  I just need to write them.  Besides, it’s a new year.

In the interests of full disclosure, I have to tell you things aren’t ALWAYS perfect.  I have “stuff” but as my good friend,(and yoga instructor) Elin says, “We ALL have stuff.”  Anyway, yesterday as I merrily wrote my post sitting on the couch, munching on chips and dip before dinner and (not) watching football, I was feeling just fine.  However, about five minutes into dinner (some shrimp thing that was just fine) I was feeling not so great.  I stopped eating (I’m no fool) but even then I knew I was in for trouble.

It’s called “dumping” and is caused (in my case) by having a shorter esophagus and smaller stomach.  So, I need to be careful…eat slowly, don’t eat too much, be careful WHAT I eat.  What happens if I ignore all this can vary from mild nausea (happens to me a lot) to severe stomach pains to sudden explosive diarrhea.  Well, fortunately it wasn’t diarrhea (although at least that is over and done with rather quickly) It was the stomach pains…feels worse than labor.  The first time it happened I thought I was having an appendix attack and was ready to have Jerry take me to the hospital but figured it might be dumping so I waited it out.  It can last anywhere from twenty minutes to five or six hours.  Thank God it’s rare…maybe five times since my surgery last April.

So I shuffled off to bed, bent over double with pain (with poor Jerry looking on, knowing there was nothing we could do) was moaning  in pain for hours and finally fell asleep about 1:00.   (saw the New Year in but not by choice)  Still, I knew I’d be fine by morning (even set the alarm so I’d make it to yoga on time)  That’s the good news in all this…I KNOW it’s going to pass.  I KNOW I’m going to be all right. Can’t imagine going through it AND being scared it’s something really serious.

When it was going on, Jerry and I were trying to figure out what was causing it THIS time.  Everything I had eaten during the day had been pretty bland(although I did keep tasting the spaghetti sauce I was making for later on in the week) and we hadn’t been partying.  When I woke up this morning, it came to me…chips and dip.  I’d been shoveling them in while I wrote my blog yesterday, not even paying attention to how MUCH I was eating (so much for mindful eating)  I had trouble one other time with chips and dip…Guess they are OFF my food list (no great loss, they aren’t good for us anyway)

They say the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result.  I’m beginning to KNOW which foods (and how much) can cause trouble…I just “forget” every now and then or think I”m “over it”.  Insane, right?

Okay…books…

Our book club book was My Dream of You by Nuala O’Faolain.  Liked it a LOT but it’s long..over 500 pages.  It’s about an Irish woman in her fifties with a lot of baggage. She’s been living in Britain for most of her life but goes back to Ireland to do some research and figure out what to do next after the death of her best friend.

LOVED Nicholas Kristof’s A Path Appears.  And The Underground Girls of Kabul.  I learned a lot from both but the thing that probably impressed me the most was that they made me see charitable giving and what needs to be done to make the world a better place for women and girls in lots of new ways.  I read Neverhome which reminded me of Cold Mountain, didn’t love it but it was a good book. It’s about a young woman dresses like a man and goes to war during the Civil War while her husband stays home in Indiana (he’s the gentler one of the couple) to keep the home fires burning.  I read Deep, Down Dark which was about the Chilean miners who were trapped in a mine for over two months.  It’s NPR’s book club selection and they’ll be discussing it Jan 20.  Incredible that they all made it…all 33 were alive when they were finally able to get out.  And I liked Anita Diamant’s The Boston Girl a lot.  I know it got mixed reviews but I thought it was great. It’s about a young Jewish girl growing up in Boston (duh) in the early 1900s.  She tells the story of her life to her young granddaughter who is in college in the 80s.  And now I’m reading Anne Lamott’s book of essays, Small Victories.(thanks, Donna)  She makes me laugh, she makes me cry.  She makes me think.  (Actually I LISTENED to at least half of these…read the others.)

Happy New Year!  It’s already a good one!

10425372_10154735798275654_6404155247791827921_n

 

5 thoughts on “Chips and Dip

  1. Deirdre Christman

    Happy new year, dear friend! Glad you’re feeling better! Do you know that if I had one week to live, I’d binge on chips and dip – when I wasn’t eating pizza, pasta, lobster, and chocolate. I don’t know how you get all the reading/listening done that you do. I’m still reading My Dream of You, and not at all upset (until I read your blog) that it’s taken me over a week to get within 100 pages of the end.

  2. Sending you love friend!

  3. Happy New Year, may 2015 be even better than 2014, for what does and doesn’t happen. Sad that chips and dips are now things of your past, but small price to pay for not having literally gut wrenching pain.

    Thank you for including me on your journey. Lotso love, my friend.

  4. ” Be here now”…just not eating chips and dip! How about pretzels and hummus? Anyway, glad you got through it. See you at book club!

  5. Hi Mary….Happy New Year! So sorry you brought it in not feeling well! Add those chips & dip to your NO list!
    You did have a year of great news and many hurdles jumped! You’re a strong, confident woman and I’m sure 2014 only enhanced those! You are an inspiration! I’m glad 2014 is in the past for you but many life lessons were learned I know! Be blessed my friend and here’s to a wonderful 2015.

Leave a Reply

