On Our Way

IMG_0177

We’re on our way to Texas.  We left Venice at 7:00 this morning and ran into fog, fog and more fog…until about 10:00.  Not the best way to start the road trip.  I was driving (and Jerry was “helping”).  Fortunately the fog lifted before someone really lost it.

The rest of the day was gorgeous sunshine after a tiny shower somewhere in the Panhandle.  We didn’t have any more trouble until the very end when we were looking for our hotel.  It had been a long day, thirteen hours on the road and it was dark and we were tired.  Anyway we did find it (we usually have no problem) and I told Jerry that maybe we were too old to drive in the dark any more (We are NOT too old to drive in the dark, he said.)  So now we’re all set and comfy and ready to face another day on the road tomorrow.  The good news….no ice and/or snow in the forecast.

IMG_0168Sunday night Jerry and I went to a light display in the town just north of us on Mission Valley Road.  It reminded me of Bright Nights in Forest Park in Springfield…much smaller but positively lovely.  It’s one family who has a fairly IMG_0174large piece of property.  You park the car and walk through.  We saw someone with a bucket at the end of the walk and so Jerry got out some money to put in the bucket..figured it was donations for the electric bill.  No, says the guy, this is our treat. Have a mint.  The bucket was filled with candy…they wouldn’t take any donations.  IMG_0164

Yesterday was busy…lots of errands, last minute things to buy, packing, etc.  But it was just beautiful and I did need to walk (I have this new app called Breeze that is sickeningly sweet about encouraging me to meet my goals every day…driving me nuts but I DO meet my goals –except today when I probably walked a total of 500 steps)  So I walked down at South Jetty, a favorite spot for dolphins who just IMG_0207happened to be hanging out there, doing flips and entertaining the fishermen and a few walkers.  I have never gotten a good picture of them doing their thing but I did get some shots of the jetty, the birds and the Gulf that was almost like glass yesterday.

My friend, Mary Anne, had her second chemo treatment last Friday.  They adjusted her meds because she had had such a terrible reaction to one of them last time around.  Still, she was holding her breath waiting for the nausea and vomiting (and praying it wouldn’t arrive..the doctor said if she had trouble it would be on day 3 or 4)  Well Day 4 is over and she’s just fine…and so very, very happy to be feeling so well.  Thank God for good doctors and the prayers of friends and a crazy voodoo doll her nephew from New Orleans brought her…Everything, every little thing helps.

Happy Hanukkah to my dear friends who are celebrating for the next eight nights.  And much love to all of you.

Heron and Pelican arguing

Heron and Pelican arguing

 

 

12 thoughts on “On Our Way

  1. Glad the fog didn’t last too long and that you it to your planned destination. Those Christmas lights are great aren’t they…have to make a visit there again this year if and when the nights decide to warm up a bit!
    Drive safely and a wonderful visit. Oh, Jerry looks much better than Santa (better not say that too loud or I will get coal!)

  2. Have a safe trip! Love the photos! We all have so much for which to give thanks ! I’m grateful for Altoid tins which my baby loves!

  3. Deirdre Christman

    I’m glad you still have a sense of humor at the end of 13 hours. Russ and I are usually ready to kill each other by then. He does all the driving and I do all the complaining. Thanks for the photos. I may live in Venice too, but it’s nice to see it from another point of view. Enjoy your visit with the littles!

  4. Enjoy a beautiful Christmas with your family!

  5. Wendie Highsmith

    Wonderful photos! We have been out to Mission Valley-amazing. Love the jetty! Hope there is no fog on your travels today or ice or snow or heavy rain! Wendie

    _____

  6. Absolutely LOVE the photo of the heron and pelican…they really look deep into an argument! And the heron is very haughty! Hope the rest of the trip goes smoothly and your Christmas with the “littles” is sublime.

  7. Drive safe and enjoy the scenery.

  8. Light snow greted us in Ohio and we have already gotten some grandbabies hugs… Enjoy

  9. I wish you and your family health, happiness and peace during the holiday season and throughout the new year. Billie and I will be in New Hampshire this Christmas, leaving early next week to celebrate the final days of Hanukkah and then cook and prepare for more extended family celebrations. Retirement is such a treat…to come and go as I please. And my gifts are wrapped with all the flourishes that only free time could allow. Hugs and love to you and yours.

  10. Mary, everyone knows you need Rudolph for foggy nights! It sounds like another adventure for the two of you.

  11. Your spirits sound so merry and bright, Mary. I’m glad Mary Anne had a good day 4. Pray each day is a peaceful one for her. I saw Bright Nights with Debbie one year in Longmeadow- very special.
    Have a safe trip and a very Blessed, Merry Christmas and a HEALTHY, fun. exciting, Happy 2015.

  12. Love seeing the pics of the South Jetty. It was my father-in-law’s favorite spot. They would take lunch and sit on a bench and watch the world go by~
    Glad you are safely on your way – Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

