Chores

IMG_0005

We’re in Flower Mound and oh my, those kids are growing up.  Calli is riding a two wheel bike, Declan is whizzing around on a Razor scooter and Lana knows at least half of her times tables.  Declan can play board games and Calli and Lana do a fine job on “Clue” (although Calli loaded the mystery envelope with two rooms and one culprit and forgot a weapon ..oops)  Lana won…We figured it someone got ONE room and the “bad guy” they could be declared the winner.

All three are pitching in to keep the house looking decent.  Immediately after dinner last night, Calli fed the dog, Lana started emptying the dishwasher and Declan wiped down the table.  (See photo above for the most interesting way I have ever seen to wash the table after dinner)  Jobs change once a week.  Can’t wait to see how Declan empties the dishwasher.

And now the three of them (and two extra kids from the neighborhood) are making chocolate chip cookies with Erin (while Nana sits on the couch and does a blog entry and watches the bedlam from the next room)  Christmas music is playing.  Lana is in charge of reading the recipe, assigning the little ones their jobs and supervising and so far, so good. Hey, four eggs cracked by kids and no shells in the batter!

They are so darn cute!  And for some reason, every time I look at them, my eyes fill up with tears. We are so lucky to be here.

It’s been a sobering week.  Mary Anne began chemo.  (Her chemo room had plants and the elevators at Sloane Kettering have benches–I hope MD Anderson is reading this blog and upgrades)  A friend at Cranberry was diagnosed with breast cancer.  A teacher who had various medical problems and retired last year died unexpectedly.  It all takes my breath away.  Moral of the story…TAKE NOTHING FOR GRANTED….and be ever so grateful to each moment, each hour, each day.

Books….I’m almost finished with The Narrow Road to the Deep North  and it’s easy to see why it won the Booker Prize this year (even if I wanted History of the Rain to win)  It’s a hard book to read.  I haven’t read Unbroken but they probably have similarities…a Japanese prisoner of war camp, Australian prisoners building a railroad for the Japanese…a realistic Bridge Over the River Kwai (reminded me, too, of one of Dad and Annette’s favorites…A Town Like Alice that I would highly recommend)  I’m glad I read it.  Would I recommend it?  Maybe not.  It’s painful to read.  Certainly not the book to read if you want to escape to a happier place!

Happy Thanksgiving, dear friends.  I am so very thankful for so many things…not the least of which is the friendship of so many beautiful people…I love each and every one of you.

 

 IMG_0009

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Chores

  1. Sounds like you’re having a wonderful time with the kids…enjoy…we all have so much to be thankful for!
    I too am so grateful for family and good friends. May your Thanksging be Happy and blessed!
    Love, Pam

  2. Declan learned his cleaning techniques from me!  I’m exhausted just thinking of having kids make chocolate chip cookies!  In Waltham, my wonderful neighbors had 3 kids in 3 years & I often had them over to make brownies (mixes are easier!)….finally figured out the best way to do it was for all of us to sit on the floor & pass the bowl around to stir…sort of contained the mess.  Enjoy!!!

    Jerri 521 Cedarwood Lane Venice, FL 34293 941-445-4118

    “Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud.” Maya Angelou

  3. I am so thankful to still have your blog to read….and for you, obviously! Enjoy my home state….I still miss Texas every single day. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your wonderful family. ♡

  4. We are thankful for so many blessings! Happy Thanksgiving to all!!!!!

  5. What lovely photos, Mary! I am happy for you, and for them having you in their lives. Happy Thanksgiving!

  6. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving with Erin and all the grandkids! So much to be thankful for. And you’re missing our snow storm tomorrow too!

  7. Funny how life teaches you to take nothing for granted. I learned that lesson14 years ago.
    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. Enjoy every moment.

  8. I love that picture of Declan cleaning the table. Thanks for sharing the good times. Your “attitude of gratitude” is catching!

  9. Hi Mary: len and I want to wish you and jerry a wonderful thanksgiving holiday. We also hope this year brings you the very best of health. We’re on our way to nc now and then driving to east coast of florida. Enjoy! Love, Carole and len

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  10. Wendie Highsmith

    Love that they are all pitching in. Have a grand Thanksgiving! Love, Wendie

    _____

  11. Love u Mary, and Jerry………

Leave a Reply

