Homeless

Santa Monica Pier

Santa Monica Pier

No, not me.  We’re some of the lucky ones who have a home.  I read the other day that there are more empty dwellings in the US than there are homeless.  What a terrible indictment on our society.

I just can’t get over the number of people without homes that I see all over Los Angeles and Santa Monica…more than any other city I’ve ever been in.  We saw them sleeping in the park by the pier in Santa Monica our first day of touring.  And have seen them everywhere ever since.  Today we went to the Central Library and got there shortly after it opened.  People were already there, cleaning up in the rest rooms, relaxing, finding a study carrel so they could have a quiet meal.   One kid really didn’t fit the stereotype.  He was standing on a street corner with a shopping cart full of his belongings.  He was tanned and blond and fit…gorgeous…looked like one of those surfer boys you see in the old movies about California surfers.  Some were old (or at least my age), some were quite young.  I imagine each one of them has a story.  I need to do some research.  From what I saw, Los Angeles doesn’t hassle the homeless but it doesn’t appear to help them much either.  But what do I know…I’m a tourist.  I live in another world.

Card catalogs...no longer used. Remember these?

Card catalogs…no longer used. Remember these?

Ceiling at the entrance to Central Library

Ceiling at the entrance to Central Library

As I said, we went to the Central Library which is pretty spectacular.   We toured the building and chatted with the children’s librarian.  The ceilings were impressive; some of the murals depicting the history of California were fascinating.  And my favorite things were three hanging sculptures.  I just loved them.

Hanging sculptures at Central Library

Hanging sculptures at Central Library

We left downtown LA and went back to the Santa Monica Pier for lunch.  (thanks, Nina, for mentioning how much you enjoyed a meal on the pier)  And, yes, I rode the ferris wheel…alone.  Amusement park rides are not Jerry’s cup of tea and rides that go high above the Pacific Ocean didn’t appeal to him in the slightest.  I loved it and took a ton of pictures.

We had planned to hit one more museum today but decided we had had enough so we headed back to Sean and Carly’s a bit early.  Nice to relax a bit before we cook a veggie pasta dinner for the working people who won’t be home until around 8:00.

One more day…not sure what we’re doing tomorrow.  The kids won’t be working (we hope–Sean will probably have schoolwork and Carly NEVER stops) We’re hoping to see the UCLA campus and maybe get to the Hammer Museum since we didn’t get there today.  If not, there will be lots more times.

End of Route 66...It goes from Chicago to LA

End of Route 66…It goes from Chicago to LA

Santa Monica Pier

Santa Monica Pier

Street Performer

Street Performer

View from the ferris wheel

View from the ferris wheel

5 thoughts on “Homeless

  1. Looks particularly appealing given we have a dusting of snow and temps in the mid-30’s and dropping. But I still love my New England. It just means that it’s time for me to come in out of the gardens, make a pot of soup and read a book. It’s all good. Enjoy it all!

  2. SO happy you’re having such wonderful days, so many different places – museums, library, family, gorgeous coastline and even a ferris wheel! (Jerry, I’m with you, feet firmly on the ground!) Missing you, but delighted for you. xoxo

  3. Ferris wheel had to be sooo cool…I would’ve gone with you! Keep having fun!

  4. Deirdre Christman

    Love your pictures! Love the fact that you’re doing everything possible. Love that you’ll be back to do even more – and we can share it all with you through your blog.

    Portland, Oregon is full of the homeless. I think Oregon’s policies make it possible for them to survive with a modicum of dignity. Still, I wouldn’t want to be homeless in Oregon, where it rains nine months of the year. In fact, I wouldn’t want to live in my dream house in a place where it rains nine months of the year.

  5. Gotta love the ferris wheel!! It’s all perspective. You can enjoy it from the bottom looking up or from the top looking down.. As you come around nothing beats the excitement of having someone to wave to before you’re swept up again. Just thinking of you riding it is bringing a smile to my face.

Leave a Reply

