PCH (aka Pacific Coast Highway)

PCH

PCH

 

Okay, so this is a gorgeous route along the ocean…absolutely spectacular in places.  We went north of Malibu but promised ourselves we’ll be back to go further north next time.  There’s something about waves crashing against rocks that takes my breath away.  And lucky me, I wasn’t driving so I got to ooooh and ahhh all I wanted while Jerry sneaked quick looks except when we pulled over to take a really good look.

We left the highway and took a scary canyon road inland to visit Jane and Joe Lynch.  Jane is Deb George’s sister.  Deb is a good friend from Center School in Longmeadow, Massachusetts.  Were your ears burning, Deb?  We were talking about you.

Joe and Jerry

Joe and Jerry

The Lynches were so wonderful.  They made us feel so welcome and so at home.  Some people are just so easy to be with, aren’t they?  It was a perfect afternoon.

Jane and Mary

Jane and Mary

The trip BACK to the PCH was a lot easier.  Joe sent us west on a much wider, less meandering road than the one we took to their house.  The one TO the house was a bit like the Road to Hana in Maui except that it was at least two lanes.  And there were stunning views but I still was really happy to go back an easier way.

Tomorrow?  Not sure…probably a couple museums we haven’t seen.  I’d like to ride the ferris wheel on Santa Monica pier…not sure if that’s going to happen or not.  It’s supposed to be the only ferris wheel out in the ocean in the country.  We’ll see if it fits into our plans as the day progresses.

IMG_3324

IMG_3335

9 thoughts on “PCH (aka Pacific Coast Highway)

  1. Absolutely spectacular vistas…so glad you’re having such a great trip.  Getting chilly here for the next few days (highs next week will be in 60s!).  Going to Jim’s today…will eat a croissant for you!

    Jerri 521 Cedarwood Lane Venice, FL 34293 941-445-4118

    “Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud.” Maya Angelou

  2. Beautiful friends and family!!! Only wish I was with you!😇

  3. Love that you got to see Jane and Joe – aren’t they the best!
    We took the girls on a PCH trip right before I started at Center School so many years ago. We started in San Francisco and went all the way down to San Diego. I agree that I was glad Bill was driving – it terrified me! The girls kept falling asleep in the back seat (they were 7, 12 and 14) I kept saying “look at this!’ “Look at that!” Someone said (Can’t remember who) – “Mom- it’s all fabulous! Let us sleep!”

    Enjoy the rest of your trip dear friend! It’s all fabulous!

  4. Your next career? Definitely , a photographer!

  5. Your photo sparked a deja vu. Two summers ago, Billie and I met up with friends in Sacramento and were driven up the coast beginning in Monteray all the way through California, Oregon and into Portland and then Seattle where we spend another week with Sasha. Although the California coastal highway blew me away, the Oregon coast was even more spectacular, because the highway is not bordered by safety guardrails and other obstructions to a more natural view. Also, traveling through the redwood forests was spectacular.

    Years earlier, I also walked the pier in Santa Monica but didn’t ride the ferris wheel. Instead, we had an amazing meal at a restaurant that captured the view. I imagine you riding high above it all with the thrill of being on top of the world in more ways than one. Thank you for your update. I always look forward to reading your posts.

  6. I loved the Pacific Coast Highway as well. It was just pure beauty. Bernie and I drove it before we were married. ( His brother was with the S.F Giants then.) Yikes, that was another lifetime ago. I won’t tell you how long ago but I’m sure you can figure it out. ( A good brain exercise!)

  7. We loved sharing time and stories with you and Jerry. Your photo of the pelican is beautiful!
    Enjoy the rest of your trip, Happy Thanksgiving and please come back anytime.

  8. Deirdre Christman

    Love seeing you have such a wonderful time. You clearly appreciate every minute. Let me echo Nina and say that the Oregon coast is absolutely phenomenal. You might want to try that some day. Hope you get to ride the Ferris wheel!

  9. I drove the PCH with a friend about 9 years ago. We started in Napa Valley and drove to San Diego with stops along the way, I was the designated driver on that trip, so we pulled over frequently so that I could take advantage of the spectaculars views as well. We toured the Hearst Castle among other things. What a wonderful trip that was !

    Ride the wheel, Mary !!!

Leave a Reply

