Getty Museum

 

Getty Museum in Los Angeles

Getty Museum in Los Angeles

Oh my, this place is stunning.  We arrived about 10:00 this morning and left at 4:00 when, even with Advil, my back couldn’t take it any more. I just loved it here.  The architecture is magnificent; the art is spectacular.  We did a couple of tours…one on the Impressionists…and then wandered around with their audio tour on an iTouch.  This is a not to be missed place in Los Angeles.

My favorite was Van Gogh’s Irises but there were lots more that I loved.

Can't remember the title...isn't this beautiful?

Can’t remember the title…isn’t this beautiful?

We’re going to have to go back.  We saw the things we really wanted to see but there’s so much more to see and learn about .  Another day…

Bad news from my friend, Mary Anne McDermott.  Mary Anne and I taught together at Cranberry and she just retired this year.  She’s been going through tests and was diagnosed yesterday with lung cancer.  It’s like deja vu all over again….even the same time of year.  And Mary Anne, too, is leaving Venice and heading to a top notch cancer center…Sloan Kettering in NYC.  She’ll see them on Friday and I’m sure they’ll run a bunch of tests and tell her what’s in store for her for the next few months.  It’s breaking my heart.  I expect she’s in for a rough ride…but I also know she’s a tough woman who can do anything she sets her mind to doing.  Say a prayer for her or send her good thoughts.  This is so not fun. The good news is that she’s got family and friends who will carry her though this the way you carried me through my journey.  And, my hope and prayer is that she’ll come out the other end of her tunnel  healthy and happy and ready to go on with her life. (and to have fun in the sun with the rest of us)

VanGogh's Irises

Van Gogh’s Irises

 

7 thoughts on “Getty Museum

  1. Prayers and light to Mary Anne…you’ve set the bar high & I’m sure she’ll aspire to out do you!

    Jerri 521 Cedarwood Lane Venice, FL 34293 941-445-4118

    “Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud.” Maya Angelou

  2. Sounds like you’re having a wonderful time. Sorry to hear about your friend…I will remember her in my prayers. Keep having fun. You’ll be in my thoughts when you go to Texas! Pam🐢

  3. I literally had a crush on Vincent when I was around 18. Read “Lust for Life” and that did it for me. I saw my first Van Gogh at Yale, and started to weep. Oh my.

  4. I am praying for Mary Anne… And will continue to do so. Prayers for you, too, my friend,

  5. Looks like you are taking full advantage of your LA time! Was so sorry to hear of MaryAnne’s diagnosis but glad she is headed to Sloan-Kettering. MaryAnne, if you are reading this, know I am sending good thoughts your way!

  6. I am keeping her in my prayers. Let me know if wan me to send you a prayer shawl for her.

Leave a Reply

