Calli

Summer 2014

Summer 2014

Last night Calli (age 6) called me on FaceTime.  She had a couple of things to talk about…first that she had figured out how to get a photo onto her home and lock screen on her Itouch and next, to tell me that first grade was pretty boring (everything is boring to Calli…I told her just to sit politely and bring a good book to read whenever she had a moment)

Anyway, I told her that I was going to go wedding dress shopping with Miss Carly this Sunday while we were in California and that I wished that she could have come because she has a WAY better fashion sense than I do.  She really does.  Or at least she CARES about clothes (especially shoes) more than I ever have.

What time are you going?  she asks.

Calli, I say, laughing, you can’t come.  California is too far from Texas.20140426_0030

Nana, she says patiently, I KNOW that.  I just thought we could FaceTime and I could look at the dresses that way.  (Duh…how did these kids get to be so smart?)

I told her I’d check with Carly and see if she wanted an extra set of eyes and another opinion on “the dress”.  She told me to check and get back to her so she could be ready at the right time.  When I told my friend, Linda, that I was going with Carly (Erin picked out her dress without me) and that I really don’t have a great fashion sense, she said simply, “Just ask her how she feels in the dress.”  She’ll know which one is THE one.  Wise woman, that Linda Morassi.

3R4A0373Calli has it in her head that she’s going to be in charge of the dress…the one to straighten out the train during the service.  Good thing the service is likely to be fairly short because otherwise, she’d probably steal the show  fussing and fixing the dress during the entire ceremony and we’d all be exhausted from trying not to laugh (except Lana who will be nine…old enough to know it was crazy but not old enough to think it was funny.) If Carly is going to let her fix the dress, she ought to give her a limit…You can fix it three times…after that, just let it go.

Okay, back to packing.  It’s a gorgeous day here in sunny Florida.  I keep taking breaks to go outside and read or write or just sit in the sun.  Slowly but surely the suitcase is getting filled, though, and we’re so excited to be heading west to see so many people we love.  What I loaded first (here are my priorities) was my iPod and Kindle…I have enough books to last me until the middle of next year.

And also, prayers and good thoughts and healing energy…not for me but for a good friend who may be getting a diagnosis of lung cancer today.  Haven’t heard from her all day (no news is good news???) but things didn’t look promising.  It is very hard (I’m not telling YOU anything new) to be the one whose friend is sick.  You feel so helpless and worried and scared and hopeful and …well, you know.  You’ve been through it with me….this week has made me appreciate all of you even more.  I just want to be a good friend and help her through whatever happens.

Books…read more of Station Eleven…very well done but not a fun read, certainly makes you appreciate all we have in this crazy world of ours.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Calli

  1. Oh that Calli – what a sharpie she is. Enjoy the trip to CA – – Good to hear from you. Love, B.

  2. Exciting stuff!! Online consulting- How my 1960s world has changed. It is amazing isn’t it? Enjoy.

    Darling pics.

  3. Beautiful child, calli. Nothing new re:Ron. Heading to venice soon. Have a wonderful trip. See you in December. Be well. Judy

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. Yikes! Kids are so smart now, and Calli has no limitations of time or space, like us old folks do! Impressive! Fun read—and yes, Linda is a wise woman indeed! That is the way to choose clothes for any and all occasions, but especially the wedding day! So glad for all the blessings in your life, Mary, and prayers for your friend. Hope to cross paths in February, but I’ll have to be in touch. We’re planning to explore several areas…Hope all parts of your trip go well.

  5. Can’t wait to hear how that child turns out! Smart and assertive. Go get ’em, Calli!

  6. Deirdre Christman

    That Calli is a girl after my own heart. When I’m on the elliptical at the gym, I always try to watch “Say yes to the dress.” Every girl is a princess in her wedding gown.

    Your friend is lucky to have you help her through this frightening and stressful time. I know that if I have to face cancer, I’ll be better prepared for having learned from you – and I know you’ll be with me every step of the way.

    Have a fabulous vacation! And here’s hoping the sojourn in Houston brings you more good news!

    Don’t forget to blog. Love you.

Leave a Reply

