October Already?

10632572_850687524965689_6117556357013577856_n

Unlike my friends up north, we do not have stunning foliage and  cool, crisp air.  Instead we have warm, not stifling hot, days when it IS cool in the morning and still is perfect for floating in the pool and reading in the afternoon.  (Of course the pool is around 89…I know, that’s ridiculous but I like it)

A couple “Lana stories” today.  First, one from this week’s math test.  Question:  How long would it take to read a chapter book:  10 seconds? 10 minutes? 10 days?  10 years?

Lana, who knocks off the little third grade chapter books in an evening KNEW all the answers were wrong but figured 10 minutes was a lot closer than any of the others to the right answer.

The question wasn’t a good one and obviously the one who wrote it had no idea what third grade chapter books look like.  Even the slowest reader can finish one in less than ten days (they can only borrow them for a week at the school library anyway)  However, this grandchild of mine is going to have to learn how to take tests or she’s going to be in trouble.  I used to tell the kids, “Don’t be imaginative.  The guys that make up these tests are not all that creative.  They aren’t too smart.  Go for the answer you think they want and move on.”

Lana, reader and swimmer extraodinaire (but not organized woman extraordinaire) misplaced her ID card that she was supposed to wear ONLY at school and LEAVE at school at the end of the day (who would remember to take it off?  Not me)  Anyway, when the teacher asked about it, she panicked and said “My dog ate it.”  The thing that was so funny was that she had NEVER heard that excuse before. …thought she was being original and her dog does eat everything you leave around.
 
  And her teachers, who think she is absolutely wonderful (she is), believed her because she NEVER lies (As Erin and I agreed…ALL children lie)   Anyway, she got caught in the lie and had to apologize to the teachers when Erin found the ID card and dropped it off at the school later in the day.  Erin went home and found that the dog HAD eaten Lana’s library book while she was gone.  As I said, that dog eats EVERYTHING.  (Sonia, do you remember when the dog ate OUR homework?  I think it was the Multicultural Curriculum class)
 
Lana, reader and swimmer extraodinaire (but not organized woman extraordinaire) misplaced her ID card that she was supposed to wear ONLY at school and LEAVE at school at the end of the day (who would remember to take it off?  Not me)  Anyway, when the teacher asked about it, she panicked and said “My dog ate it.”  The thing that was so funny was that she had NEVER heard that excuse before. …thought she was being original and her dog does eat everything if you leave it around.
 
So it’s been an interesting week for that kid.  Thank heavens she has two terrific teachers who appreciate her “wonderfulness” and know that she’s a smart little cookie.
My Cranberry book club met this week.  We had read Gone Girl (which I despised) and I thought about not going because I hated the book. But I love the people and hadn’t seen some of them since I got back home in the spring.  It was so very good to get caught up with everyone…a few newly retired, a lot still teaching, some with kids graduating from high school this year, one whose daughter got married last spring, one whose husband is home but getting Hospice care (she is incredibly strong and peaceful and matter of fact…said she was sorry she was late.  The baby sitter, her daughter,  was a bit late arriving to take over)   I looked around the table at these wonderful women who have become so very dear to me and couldn’t stop smiling.
              Reader Report…Read We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas…about a young Irish girl in NYC …follows her from the 40s to 2011…starting out liking it okay and ended up loving it.  It was a tad long (640 pages) but a good book.  And I listened to Louise Penny’s new one, The Long Way Home.  I love her books…love the way she writes, love her characters and enjoy the mystery.  But my favorite book this week was a kids’ book called Wonder.  (Thank you, Kathy Bellerose for the recommendation)  It’s about a ten year old with serious cranial malformations who has always been homeschooled.  When he is about to enter fifth grade, his parents decide it’s time for him to go to school.  Incredible book…each chapter has a different narrator…absolutely beautiful book.  And if I were still teaching fifth grade, it would be one of the first books we’d read together.  I’d spend my own money for a class set!
 10505405_10152381074763543_3466542494639641171_n
 
10 thoughts on “October Already?

  1. Is that ” Matilda”?

    • Yep, it’s Matilda. You’re good, Susie. I kept looking at her and thinking, “I know that girl. She’s from a Dahl book. But I couldn’t remember her name. Way to go, woman.

  2. Funny you remember that, Mary. I love reading about the books you read. Hopefully I’ll get to some of them soon. What do you read – 2 books a day??

  3. Starting to wonder about our taste in books being in sync. Loved Wonder and Gone Girl. You sound great my friend.

    Antrese McColgan Center School

    >

  4. As you might guess, I have already copied that last paragraph for my book list. 🙂 Thanks! Cute story about “the dog ate my homework.”

  5. I’m laughing out loud! It’s hard to have a wasted day with kids around. (e e Cummings)

  6. My new retirement goal is to read all the good books on Mary Ginley’s blogs. Oh, your stories truly made me laugh out loud. You’re hysterical!!

  7. I just finished We Are Not Ourselves. As I said I thought it could have been shorter but I’m glad I stuck with it. It was a good book. Next on my list is Unbroken which is a true story about a WWII prisoner of war. I want to read it before the movie is released (Angelina Jolie directed the movie).

  8. I’ll have to get your reccomended kid book. I truly believe most kid books are creative and inspirational. What’s it like making an apple pie when you haven’t just picked them off the tree? Made one yesterday……yum.

  9. Hey Mary, I finished Close Your Eyes, Hold Hands, and I did love it! Thanks for the recommendation, and I have one for you, have you read The Storied Life of AJ Frickery? Strange title, but very good book!

Leave a Reply

