Home Again

Apple picking with Grace, Ellyse, Kiley (friend)

Apple picking with Grace, Ellyse, Kiley (friend)

Ahh..we’re home.  I loved seeing everyone…well not everyone but as many as I could possibly see in ten days.  I mean I loved seeing the people I saw but I just couldn’t see everyone I wanted to see.

And I loved spending time in New England.  Lord, is it ever gorgeous there in September.  I had forgotten how  stunning those cool crisp mornings and gorgeous warm afternoons could be.  Yes, I loved it all and I loved coming home.

We came home to rain and a pool  filled with green slime (not our fault…we have a pool service) and a to-do list a mile long.  I decided yesterday that it was monsoon season…rain coming sideways.  I didn’t go to yoga, went grocery shopping instead. Funny, Jerry was down the road playing golf and had no serious rain until he hit the 17th hole.  Then he did get drenched but until then, things were pretty good.

Before I go any further, I’ve been meaning to share a website with you….a blog written by my friend, Linda Morassi, who is walking the Camino de Santiago in Spain this month.with a friend from Anna Maria Island.   The Camino de Santiago, also known by the English names Way of St. James, is the name of the pilgrimage route to the shrine of the apostle, St. James,  in the  in Galacia in northwestern Spain, where tradition has it that the remains of the saint are buried. Many take up this route as a form of spiritual path or retreat, for their spiritual growth.  (Wikipedia)   Linda and Kay are traveling about 400 miles…mostly walking carrying everything they need on their backs.  I have been loving “traveling” along with Linda through her blog.  She amazes me…first that she could undertake such a journey and second, that she could write her blog on her iPhone.  Amazing woman.  If you want to see what she’s up to, go to lindamorassi.wordpress.com.

We’re home for a nice stretch.  We leave again November 7, first to visit Sean and Carly in Los Angeles, then to Houston for my checkup and then to Flower Mound to celebrate Thanksgiving with the Rosses.  We have some company in October…nice month to be here although my recommendation is to wait until you’re sick of the cold and snow to come.  But whenever people come, we’re delighted.

When we got back to Venice in May I had a lot of catching up to do…dentist, mammogram, yearly physical with pap smear.  It seemed impossible, with all those chemo drugs going through me, that I could possibly have another kind of cancer but wouldn’t you know it…an abnormal pap smear.  Some women get them all the time…I had never had one.  So the doctor sat down with me…could be an infection (take these antibiotics etc and come back in three months and we’ll look at it again) or it could be cancerous (you have to be kidding)  So I went back for another pap smear just before heading north and got a call while I was in Massachusetts that ALL WAS WELL.  Good thing….Jerry and I were NOT up for another round of treatment.  The doctor said some people are just more prone to cancer than others (her grandmother had four different kinds)  So, whether or not I have a cancer friendly body, I don’t know.  All I know is I dodged a bullet this time and am so very grateful.

So many books…so little time.  I listened to Wallace Stegner’s Angle of Repose while I drove around New England.  My dear friend, Martha, has been telling me for three years that it’s her all time favorite book.  About time I read it.  It is good. So glad I finally got around to reading it.  And I read a Tana French mystery on the plane…The Likeness. I do like Tana French–great mysteries beautifully written, set in Ireland.  So now I’m reading Love and Treasure.  Loved the beginning, not so dazzled by the middle.  And I’m listening to Amy Bloom’s Lucky Us, so far so good on that one but I’m not too far into it.

I think the quote below is very true!

 

10620531_10152356375948543_823129108523396387_n

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Home Again

  1. Mary you have such impressive friends. How long will it take Linda and Kay to complete their journey?
    Looking for straight lines and vertices seems a little lack luster by comparison.
    So glad to hear you have some down time. Stay well!

  2. Sounds like a truly marvelous trip. I fully understand the frustration in not getting to see everyone on the list. Love, Wendie Speaking of which…will you be in Venice in early Feb.? I will be coming to Tampa for my Girl Scout reunion and plan a side trip to Venice.

    _____

Leave a Reply

