Memorial Service

61085_664679106922571_88486869_n

 

Jerry and I went Sebastian on the east coast yesterday. Clark’s dad, age 91, died and yesterday was the memorial service. (You may remember—we lived at Anne and Clark’s in Houston for seven months while I was at MD Anderson)  We gave ourselves plenty of time to get across the state.  Good thing we did.  We ended up on the Florida turnpike instead of 95 north and had to take it for 40 miles before we could get off.  It cuts inland so, even though we were heading north,  1535480_10151790597741191_1840831537_nit added 30 minutes to our trip.  We spent a lot of time concentrating on not getting stressed and anxious about whether or not we’d make it on time.  It happens…you make a wrong turn.  You mess up.  You try to fix it the best you can.  We got there just before the service began…yes!

Clark’s dad was a great guy….good father, grandfather, great grandfather….worked hard, totally enjoyed life and was kind to everyone he met.  And even though he was 91 and it was time, it’s always hard to say goodbye.  Clark did a beautiful job memorializing his father with stories that made us laugh and gave us a glimpse of this good man who had lived his life to the fullest.  Clark ended his eulogy saying “Work hard.  Be nice.  Be like Lee.”

It was so close to what I say to the Littles if I’m there to send them off to school in the morning..Work hard.  Be kind….  That’s about all they need to do, isn’t it?  That’s all the rest of us need to do, too.

I brought the kids to camp today.   They’re loving every minute of this camp.  It’s a bit of a trip…almost an hour to Mote Marine…but the day is packed with snorkeling, boat trips, tours of the aquarium and interesting activities.  I’m hoping they’ll make it a tradition…come to Nana and Pop’s after swim team every summer and go to some kind of camp.

I got a jury duty card in the mail yesterday.  Last time I got one, I was in the middle of chemo and radiation.  This time, I’ll be in the middle of a trip to Massachusetts. I’m sending it back with the dates I’m in Florida. I’ll be home for a while after Massachusetts before we head out to LA to see Sean in early November and then go on to Texas for a cancer check and Thanksgiving at Erin’s.  I’m hoping they actually read my note and don’t schedule me for jury duty in November.   I’m not sure how often I can say no.

I just finished listening to Close Your Eyes Hold Hands by Chris Bojhalian.  It has mixed reviews but I truly loved it.  It’s heartbreaking and haunting.  Perhaps it meant more to me because I could picture the area so well…Burlington, Vermont.  It gave me a window on the life of a teenage girl who makes a lot of terrible but understandable choices.  Yep, it was a good book.

I liked these two quotes.   I’m getting better at waiting but still have a way to go.

10349226_10151990938721191_8420618507388736274_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Memorial Service

  1. I’d call the election office & tell them your situation…you have just completed cancer treatment, have to make frequent (a little stretching is OK) trips to TX, see if they’ll give you a medical exemption.

    Jerri 521 Cedarwood Lane Venice, FL 34293 941-445-4118

    “Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud.” Maya Angelou

    • I too just read Close Your Eyes Hold Hands. I thought it was very good. It haunted me. Especially when you find out the significance of the title.

  2. Deirdre Christman

    And I am truly thankful that YOu are in MY life. And now I am waiting impatiently, but with a good attitude, to see you again.

  3. What a nice tribute to a father! Words to live by –
    Work hard
    Be Kind
    Enjoy Life!

  4. That camp sounds great? What a memorable tradition that would be!
    Stress over a wrong turn—what a struggle to release it!

Leave a Reply

