Good Times with the Texans

 

Kelly and Lana

Kelly and Lana

Erin and Calli

Erin and Calli

 

It is so good to have a “full house” these days.  The kids are great travelers…made it from outside of Dallas to Venice in two days with minimum meltdowns and “are we there yets?”  Erin had help. She brought along Kelly Allen, the kids’ favorite baby sitter.   Kelly will go back the middle of next week and Brent will fly in for some beach time and to drive home with the gang.

We’ve been busy.  We may end up hitting every beach in the area.  Kelly and the girls went to yoga with me on Wednesday evening.  We all went kayaking yesterday and hung out on Snake Island looking for shells and digging in the sand.  It was Sharky’s for lunch and Sharky’s beach today.  I met everyone for lunch but headed home right afterwards.  That was certainly not the plan but crazy people with my digestive system that think they can have a pina colada AND fried shrimp for lunch and not get sick need to learn to take better care of themselves.  I won’t gross you out with the gory details…sufficient to say, I missed out on today’s beach fun.  I’ll be smarter (and better) by tomorrow.

Everyone is planning to go on turtle patrol tomorrow.  We’ll see who actually rolls out of bed and makes it to the beach.  Hopefully everyone will come because there’s a good chance they’ll see a hatchling.  We have four excavations (will be digging up the nests) and often there are a couple stragglers still in the nest.

I went into Venice Oncology today to get my port flushed.  I met with Dr. Maun and Joanie (his PA).  It’s the first time I’ve met with them since I saw them back in early November.  Joanie kept saying “You made the right decision….going to Anderson.”  It wasn’t so much that I’m cancer free…I think they believed I would have most likely had the same result if I had stayed here.  It was my quality of life during my treatment…minimal side effects, no burning during radiation (due to Proton)…Usually their patients going through this treatment are in pretty rough shape for months and then they get slammed with the surgery.  Yep, I made the right decision.

If you’re a “friend” on Facebook, you’ve already seen all these photos.  Easy to see life is pretty rough around here but we’ll manage!

Declan and Kelly

Declan and Kelly

Calli on Sharky's Beach

Calli on Sharky’s Beach

Declan and Nana

Declan and Nana

 

11 thoughts on “Good Times with the Texans

  1. “Wonderful-ness!” Love those pictures – especially the one with “Declan and Nana.” 🙂 Love, Barb

  2. If not for the pina colada and fried shrimp fiasco, I’d say you are on the road to a complete recovery. Actually, I’m not sure I could handle that combination without some regrets. I love all your pictures and cannot get over how wonderful you look. Enjoy your family vacation.

  3. Wendie Highsmith

    Mary-Such wonderful fun. Love seeing the Gulf and that photo of you and your sexy chemo do. Our littles arrive tomorrow afternoon. We bought out the grocery store so we are ready. Heading to Breckinridge for a few days-mountains, rafting, ziplines, alpine slide -and who knows what else? The weather has been spectacular. Went to the “other side” of Rocky Mountain National Park this week. Grand Lake, Granby, Shadow Mountain Lake. Love seeing all that water with the mountains in the background. Love, Wendie

    _____

  4. Mary, sorry I’ve been non communicative lately – crazy summer – but I’ve reading everything and am so there with you. Best part is that your life sounds normal and busy and wonderful ! We are now on the cape and are expecting our full house to arrive in the next hours. Aren’t we blessed? To have fabulous children? Who we were worried would ever grow up normal, and then they do and they are more fabulous than we could have ever hoped for? And then they give us GRANDCHILDREN!
    You know what I mean- and yes, you are lucky- hooray. Hooray! But you also deserve it all xo

  5. You just have to toughen up….pina coladas & fried shrimp should be starters!  You have had a magnificent week…so happy for you.  Will miss the whole gang but intend to have a great time without you all!

    Jerri 521 Cedarwood Lane Venice, FL 34293 941-445-4118

    “Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud.” Maya Angelou

  6. Wonderful to see you enjoying your family!

  7. LOVELY happy photos!!! Terrific way to start my day!

  8. You look great, Mary! So happy to see this.

  9. Glad you are having such good weather for your visitors. We are having great weather here this weekend as well. I’m enjoying my downtime with Bernie out on the deck.

  10. Mary, you look spectacular!! Tanned and smiling, just perfect!!!

  11. They are just the cutest kids….don’t thank me….it was a pleasure meeting them! Have a fantastic time with them this week!

Leave a Reply

