One Down, One to Go

Cateract surgery this morning.  Love those people at Center for Sight.  It truly was a piece of cake.  The pain (you were right, Pat) is the eye drops you have to put in several times a day.

The doctor told me a fine job.  It always cracks me up when they say that….like I did anything but lie there and stay still.  It happened all the time at Anderson, too.  Every test, every procedure they would tell me what a good job I did.

These guys even had a viewing booth so Jerry could watch the whole thing with someone who gave him a blow by blow description of everything that was going on.  They sent us home with a DVD so I could see the surgery (not until I’m done with eye number 2, thank you anyway)  I told Jerry it was a shame they didn’t have a viewing booth for my surgery in Houston and  a DVD.  He and Erin could have watched all seven hours…Ha! So we’re home with a whole day ahead of us.

I have a turtle patrol meeting tonight and plan to go.  And tomorrow I have an eye doctor’s appointment and lunch with friends at my favorite place in Englewood, Mango Bistro.  I’m certainly bouncing back from THIS surgery a lot faster than the last one.

Awhile ago, MD Anderson’s PR department sent out a letter to assorted press and media saying that I was willing to be interviewed regarding my cancer journey and care at Anderson.  It went to a variety of places all over the country and I’ve done a couple interviews for Cancer magazines.  Then last week, Mark Seiden, from the Venice Gondolier, called wanting to interview me for a piece for their paper.  After he read some of the blog entries, Mark suggested I write my own piece. So I did and it’ll be in this Saturday’s Gondolier.  Published, once again!

Have a good day, everyone.  Enjoy every minute of it.  Saw the thing below somewhere and it made me laugh right out loud.  Sending it on.   10429353_10152007148371191_7680596930897423301_n

8 thoughts on “One Down, One to Go

  1. Always such such fun to read your entries. Your eye surgery sounds just like mine. Adhering to the schedule for the drops is the only bothersome side. No wonder you are being quoted and printed everywhere – you express feelings and experiences so well – it gives others education and pleasure reading your words! Love, Barb G.

  2. Will u be up for breakfast tomorrow with me & Susie? Trevina has doc app’t. I’d be willing to skip yoga & meet at 8,

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. So glad it went well! Can’t wait to read the newspaper . How I will miss your blog, if you stop!

  4. Wendie Highsmith

    Sooooooooo glad this one was a breeze. Not sure I would want to see a video of the procedure. I’ll let you know when the time comes. Will look in the Gondolier. Atta girl! Wendie

    _____

  5. enjoy your new vision and appreciate it

  6. Good job, Mary. Well done. Glad all went well. You are so funny

  7. Such an upbeat blog! Yay, Mary!! Please send your article or the link along.

  8. A video of eye surgery???? I don’t think so!!! You are both far braver than me!! So glad it went well.

Leave a Reply

