On My Way to Normal (whatever that is)

1238722_412858752169851_953784437_nThe above is very true.  Made me laugh.

Things get better every day.  I last longer when I’m out, I can eat anything I want and still feel okay most of the time and my back is getting better.  What more could a woman want?

Book Club today…We read The Invention of Wings…wonderful book and I love this club.  We talked for about ninety minutes about the book, about racism and slavery, about mothers and daughters, about how a privileged white girl who grows up in Charleston, South Carolina in the 1830s can be so different from the rest of her slave owner family.  Where did she ever get her ideas?  we wondered.  Maybe because she was a reader, I suggested.  There’s nothing more dangerous than a well read woman.  Next month’s book is The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox.  Good book.  I read it awhile ago.

I went to the movies last week with a good friend.  We usually go in the morning (very cheap!) and then head to Paneras to talk about the movie (and everything else going on in our lives)  We saw  The Railway Man and then spent a lot of time trying to figure out if we’d recommend it to anyone.  It’s beautifully done, the acting is amazing and I can’t stop thinking about it.  But I can’t remember when I’ve spent more time with my eyes closed during a movie.  So, I’m not going to recommend it, but if you do go see it, let me know what you think.  Lots to talk about, lots to think about.

This is Cancer Survivor Week.   We’re going out to dinner to celebrate.  It’s a week for survivors and their caregivers.  Frankly, caregivers should have a week of their own.  Don’t know how they do it but I know mine did it really well.  We’re going to try a new restaurant in town (new to us, anyway.  It opened when we were in Houston)  It’s calls Fins and it’s next to the famous Sharky’s (same ownership).  It’s right on the beach.

Next week the big event will be my cataract surgery.  Honestly, I know it’s a walk in the park compared to what I’ve been through but when I went for my annual checkup and the doctor told me it was time, I almost cried. More surgery….Good Lord.  I know this is an easy one but I am so done with this.  And I’m sure my caregiver is pretty tired of getting me to and from these thrilling events, too!  Anyway, he’ll do one eye next Thursday and the other, the following Thursday.  I’m getting those cool lenses that will eliminate the need for glasses.  Can’t wait.  Sounds too good to be true.  I don’t need glasses for distance but I REALLY can’t see print at all any more without glasses.

Finally, happy summer to my Florida teacher friends who said goodbye to their kids yesterday.

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “On My Way to Normal (whatever that is)

  1. So happy to have you back home here, friend. I need to put some Mary time on my schedule. I don’t get to see you enough. I hope you and your angel caregiver Jerry have a lovely night out!

  2. It was wonderful to see you in such a ‘normal’ setting today. I hope you and Jerry have a wonderful, celebratory dinner out tonight, and in or out, every night from now on until…. well, is forever okay? Isn’t perspective just wonderful, hard won though it is. Well, it’s wonderful AFTER it’s hard won. Love that you’re getting your energy back, and taking fewer Tramadols. xoxo

  3. Mary, you HAVE had enough! Why does the cataract surgery have to be done now?? But I know you’ll take it in stride, as in everything else you do. May it be a restful and beautiful summer for you.

  4. Karen Rafferty

    I hear Fins is great! We tried to go there but forgot to make reservations! Have fun and enjoy a great dinner…. I should take Bill out to dinner too – didn’t know about the special week. thanks for letting me know 🙂

    So glad that every day is getting better. It probably never seemed like that so many months ago….thank goodness that time is here now.

    Take care friend! Bill’s mom is moving to Venice permanently so we’ll be there more often. And that means I get to see you more often too.

    Love!
    Karen

  5. Wendie Highsmith

    Thrilled to hear you feel stronger everyday!! Yes, I, too was eating dirt at age 2. We have gone from spring rain and coolness to summer. Everything is green, green, green. Snow is melting off the mountains and filling the creeks and rivers to capacity. There have been some tragedies due to the swift flowing water. Mother nature is in charge. Cataract surgery. Yikes! I know that is in my future. Hmmm. Who is your doctor? Take care! Enjoy those books! Love, Wendie

    _____

  6. Cataract surgery shoulder be a walk in the park. You can handle this with your eyes closed! Ha ha. So glad things are going well

  7. You are doing so well – eating more food, back hurting less, and now you’ll be tossing your glasses away, too. Yay. I know you’ll love the new freedom from glasses. Enjoy the dinner out with your sweetie. Love, Barb G.

  8. Mary, Timing is everything! I can’t believe you have to have the cataract surgery now. It’s enough to push even a strong person over the edge. Remember when we used to go to the doctors just to check in and go on our way?
    Busy week coming up. Bernie finally has some ballerinas in the family and he is very excited about it. Mia (4) has her recital Saturday at HHS. Then we are heading for Phillie for Keira’s (7) recital on Sunday. Tuesday we’ll be celebrating Abby’s birthday (14). Yikes!! Wednesday Abby graduates from 8th grade at 6:00.p.m.. On Thursday, Bernie and I are taking off for Maryland (Annapolis) for a couple of days. Then it’s back to Phillie to meet up with the rest of the gang for Abby’s graduation party on Saturday. On Sunday (Happy Father’s Day), we are heading back to the Bay State with Keira. She’s going to be “helping” grammy and papa babysit her cousins Mia, Henry( (6),and Jack (8), for a week. As I told Henry when he asked, the reason Papa doesn’t work – No Time.
    Sorry for rambling.

  9. Debbie George

    Life is good in spite of the cataract removal this week and next. After this you should be done with doctors for a long while…. I know there is a checkup somewhere down the road. School is out in FL- lucky teachers! Meet them for lunch, a walk, movie, etc. and enjoy the sunny days. We have fifteen more days to go and then the year will be done. Time does fly by quickly…… We all know that!

  10. Deirdre Christman

    Sounds like you’re getting better and better. So glad you’re eating!!! I had no idea you were getting ready for cataract surgery. Probably good to get everything over with now. That way next year you can climb Mount Everest and run for Congress. Hey, with all you’ve been through, why not?! Miss you!

  11. Glad to hear from you again. I was missing this wonderful habit of hearing from you daily. Please carry on. It’s become my daily go to.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  12. 16 more days for this Western MA teacher…but who’s counting? (ME!)

  13. You are such a good writer. Perhaps you should write your own novel! I would buy it!

    So glad you are feeling better every day you are an inspiration to us all.

    We are in NC now. Miss the beach but it is cooler her. Reconnecting with friends. All is good.

    Miss you,

    Jo

  14. Carol Connery

    Was just thinking about you-am so thrilled your life is getting back to normal, and you can do the things you love-have a double hot fudge sundae for me! xxoo Carol

  15. Just thinking how you’re getting a total tune-up for all those miles yet to travel. And with all the detailing, you will be like new. Not that I think you are a car…life is metaphorical.

    • So how was Fins? Sharkey’s is so cool being right on the Gulf!
      So sorry to hear that you have to have surgery again…ugh! But it surely will help you see better which is a good thing! See you tomorrow morning on the beach!

Leave a Reply

