Memorial Day

Quiet day here.  I was out early to yoga and then Jerry and I worked hard to make sure the room was ready for the new bed.  Dust bunnies EVERYWHERE (and I think I keep things clean!)  We had already moved the queen into the guest room.  Loved that bed.  Hope our guests enjoy it.  It’s a lot nicer than the full that was there before.

So the new (magic) bed is here.  After the guys left Jerry and I just lay on the bed and played with the remote…move it up, move it down.  I have to have the head at 30 degrees and we were so proud of ourselves for being able to figure out how to get 30 degrees without a protractor.  (Don’t roll your eyes, Sean)

So we made the mammoth bed and decided that was enough work for the day.   Time for pool.  I tried out some aqua exercisers that Anne had given me (just the feet ones because my hands are occupied holding a magazine or book) I’ve been trying to exercise in the pool for about 30 minutes a day…trust me, it’s not vigorous exercise…most like ambling up and down and around.  I’ll get more energetic but that’s about it for now.  Then I move to a float to read.  Lazy afternoon.

I’m getting better.  My back is much better (most of the time) and I’m not getting an upset stomach every time I have something to eat.  I have a good friend who is doing Reiki with me.  That helps.  And yoga helps and so does the exercise in the pool.

I’m reading Longbourn.  (Thanks, Deirdre, for the recommendation)  It’s like an Upstairs, Downstairs…the downstairs people from Pride and Prejudice (which, by the way, I have never read but will after this.)  Pure enjoyment.

And tomorrow I’m going to help a friend do her first Shutterfly book.  I LOVE those books.  I think the Littles have almost twenty of them already.

Life is good…and I’m loving every minute of it.

 

19 thoughts on “Memorial Day

  1. Happy to hear all is well. Finally some good weather up north, been in the garden all weekend and although fun, not as fun as floating in the pool. Enjoy!!!

  2. Quiet day here, too…don’t you just love slow, lazy days? It’s good to hear from you and celebrate your improvements, even the minor ones. We’ve got Field Day here tomorrow to look forward to; wish I could join you for a float in the pool, instead! Hugs for you and Jerry.

  3. That was a wonderful Memorial Day message . . . all is well! Have a happy time floating in the pool , Mary- and on the new mattress with head at 30º. Oh my. Love, Barb G.

  4. I need you to teach me about the books too!

  5. Sounds like things are moving along just fine. Your pool and lounge chair sound perfect for good long reads. Enjoy.

  6. It just makes me so happy to read this Mary. 🙂

  7. Deirdre Christman

    Life definitely seems good at the Ginley house. The best news, of course, is that eating is getting better, but also good news is that your back is improving. I expected that but worried about the eating. (You know me: I live to eat.) I’m looking forward to seeing the bed when I get back to Florida, but even more, I want to watch you make a Shutterfly book. I always have so much trouble… Glad you like Lomgbourne. I loved it.

    • Look forward to seeing you tomorrow! Didn’t like LONGBOURNE, but love Barbara Kingsolver. Reading Alice McDermott.
      Your new bed sounds like fun!

  8. Debbie George

    You are improving all the time- that is easy to see from your messages. Life does sound good- yoga, pool, etc. etc. We were at the lake and has plenty to do to,get it ready for the summer. All bedrooms are now used by the family…..can hardly fit a fly! Will you be North this summer or fall? If so, you have your room reserved!
    Be well and love to you and Jerry.

  9. In fact, Mary, since you are the best teacher ever (!) – how about writing a tutorial for us on your blog about how YOU create one of those books? I bet it would be much better than what I see on their web site.

  10. Sounds like you’re finding a good pace. The bed sounds quite amazing! Yes, I’ve been making Shutterfly books for my grands too, and one on each birthday of just that child through the year. Vistaprint also does them, and I make small ones with fairies or leaves or fun designs framing the photos. Hugs to you and Jerry for getting to this point of the story! What a read/ride/journey!

  11. So good to hear that ‘life is good’ and all the other good s that have happened. Hope the new bed is to both your likngs.

  12. Things appear to be getting back to normal for you. It takes time, but in the long run it’s worth it.

    I’ve had an adjustable bed about 4 years now and I love it, especially when I have a cold ! Does Jerry have to sleep at a 30 degree angle as well, or is it the bed that has 2 separate controls?

  13. I’m still laughing about the protractor!! Happy to hear you’re improving ; even if slowly. You know how to enjoy life. Praying every day brings smiles, happiness and wellness, love, Jane

  14. Making the bed sounds like just enough work for one day! Quite a good schedule you have going there. Ahhhh…. The quiet peaceful days are so under rated. Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!!! Love, Mary

  15. Hi Mary, easy does it. Who is the author of Longborne? I am always looking for something new to ready. Just finished the Book Thief, book and movie, loved them both. Take care.

  16. So happy you’re healing and relaxing, Mary. What a great way to begin the summer!

  17. Hi Mary, so glad to hear that you had a lovely holiday. Also so happy that you’re feeling better each day and are getting back to your routine. Has to be wonderful especially all you’ve gone thru! You are a special person and you so inspire me! I hope I’ll see you Sat. as I think I’m going to try turtle patrol….I so miss you all and Margi said those big girls have been busy! Have a great day my friend. Pam

Leave a Reply

