Day by Day

I know it’s slow but honestly, I am getting better.  My back aches (sometimes) but a tylenol and some exercise take care of it (usually) before it gets too awful.  And I still get an upset stomach after almost every meal but it goes away.  And I’m doing what I want ….turtle patrol, yoga, library work, breakfast and lunch with friends, exercise in the pool…and what I need to go….some shopping, some cleaning out closets, laundry, cooking and cleaning.   Life isn’t perfect (duh) but it’s pretty good these days because, as I wrote to a friend who’s going through chemo right now, life is good because we’re the ones who get to live.  We go through a bit of “stuff” but we get to go on living.

Lana turned eight yesterday.  She’s a character.  She took it in stride which was different from the last two birthdays.  Two years ago, when she turned six, Jerry and I were there and saying to her the night before her birthday, “Wow, no more five…You’re going to be six.  Are you excited?” and she burst into tears and said, “No, she didn’t want to get any older.  She wanted to stay five forever.”

We were all stunned.  “Why?”

“Well, when you get older, you can’t do what you used to be able to do.  And I just learned how to swim and read and I can climb trees and ride my bike and now I’m not going to be able to do that any more.”

Huh????

I figured it out first.  Nana’s big mouth.  “Sure, Lana, I used to be able to do cartwheels, climb trees, run fast, hula hoop for hours but as I get older, I can’t do everything I used to do.”

We thought we convinced her…”Take a look at the kids in the neighborhood who’re older than you.  Can they swim (ride bikes, read, climb trees) better than you or worse?  It’s only when you get old like Nana that some thing slip away (if you let them…some people get better)  You still have a lot of growing to do and you’ll get better and better and better.

So now she’s eight and seems to take aging in stride.  And she’s a better swimmer, reader, bike rider and tree climber than ever.  And I’ve learned to be VERY careful what I say in front of little kids.

I’m reading Barbara Kingsolver’s Flight Behavior and loving every minute of it.  She is such an incredible writer.  I just savor every sentence.   they make me laugh; they make me think.  This book hits home because it’s about monarch butterflies and in the early 90s at Center School in Longmeadow, hatching monarch butterflies was a tradition in the lower grades.  I learned so much as I taught the kids about these amazing insects.  And this book brought back memories of finding the eggs or caterpillars in late August and bring thing them into the classroom, getting milkweed leaves early in the morning on the way to school, watching the caterpillars grow and spin their chrysalises, seeing the butterflies emerge and then sending them off to Mexico on a gorgeous September day.  Anyway, the book is a good one.  My only complaint is that it’s a “tree book” and it’s HEAVY.  I am so spoiled by my Kindle.  This book requires heavy lifting!

And Jerry and I are nearly finished binging on Call the Midwife (we DVR everything).  One last episode to go.  My favorite show on TV.

Need to get moving.  We’re having incredible weather here…not our typical May weather.  It’s cool in the morning and evening and sunny and warm in the middle of the day but NOT humid.  Jerry is out golfing and I’m heading out to the pool for a perfect afternoon.

 

9 thoughts on “Day by Day

  1. Started to write to you last night because I was a bit worried that I hadn’t heard from you. Then I got a grip and remembered you had a life too. I am Glad to hear you’re managing even though the eating is challenging. So happy you’re getting to do all the things you want to. My brother and sister are in your neck of the woods (Orlando). Thanks for the good weather report! Say Hi to Jerry for me.
    Love, Mary

  2. One day at a time…

  3. I’m so glad I knew you when I became a grandmother!

  4. Sounds like all (or at least most) is right with the world.

  5. Deirdre Christman

    I sure have missed your blog, Mary, but I figured that when you didn’t write you were out doing fun things. Glad I was right but sorry that the back and stomach still plague you, though not enough, thank goodness, to stop you in your tracks. Always a pleasure to read what you’re up to and hear your family stories.

    I liked Flight Behavior, though I thought it was a tad long. I just finished The Invention of Wings, which I absolutely loved! Tonight I’ll start the new Julia Glass book, And the Dark Sacred Night. It’s an actual book, which I prefer.

    Miss you!

  6. I was thinking how difficult the odds were that you’d be so far along in recovery, cancer free. You are healing, a small price to pay for being cured. Day by day you may not notice your progress but the time will come when you marvel how well you feel. Like Sonia said, one day at a time…

  7. Thanks for the book suggestion. Love Monarch butterflies – – can’t wait to read it. Maybe I’ll read it on my Kindle, don’t like to lug heavy books either. So glad you are enjoying your favorite things again – turtle patrol, yoga, library, etc. Love, Barb G.

  8. All sounding quite good, Mary. I’m so glad. Wondering if we can pull off a Wild Women gathering by the end of the summer? Something to think about.

  9. Wendie Highsmith

    And Nana went through arduous chemo and radiation and surgery and is now back doing the things she loves. Doesn’t get much better than that.
    Happy day, happy weekend!
    Wendie

Leave a Reply

