Quiet Day

148881_10151173521953948_722104716_n

Hmmm…if all I ever have is the present moment,  I had better not waste any of those moments.  Today was a slow day.  My main goal was to try to get Lana’s First Communion slide show with music put together.  It went really well at first…got all the pictures in chronological order (sort of) and downloaded all the music from iTunes to the computer.  Then I tried to move the picture album from iPhoto to iMovie…totally forgot how to do that and came to a screeching halt.  Solution:  Apple class tomorrow at 10:00.  We’ll get that thing done one way or another.

This weekend was a special one for our family.  Yes, we’re so proud of Jason, the super marathon runner.  But we’re also proud of my sister, Paula, who graduated from a three year program in team building, therapy, family work that connects clients with horses and a trained therapist to move forward.  It’s a fairly new program but is growing each year.  Paula, who has been vice president of Country Curtain in Lee, MA , is leaving Country Curtains in June to begin a new career and I am so in awe of her.

To begin again, to start a new career when everyone else is winding down blows me away.  She is one gutsy woman.  She’s smart and she’s tough and she thoroughly beautiful inside and out.  Paula was born just before my seventh birthday.  I figured she was my birthday present and I went to school the day she was born and asked the teacher to show me how to write her name. I practiced writing it neatly on that double lined paper so I could show it to her (a newborn) when mom brought her home from the hospital.

The graduation was in Colorado.  Anne and Clark and Jill flew out along with Paula’s husband, Tom.  Jerry and I had hoped to go…best laid plans…

Reading The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd.  Two voices…Hetty, a slave girl and Sarah, her reluctant white mistress (who may be against slavery in theory but does enjoy getting waited on)  Good book.

The graduate

The Graduate

10 thoughts on “Quiet Day

  1. Paula (& you) make me feel like a slug!

    Jerri 521 Cedarwood Lane Venice, FL 34293 941-445-4118

    “Immortality is a long shot, I admit; but somebody has to be first.”  Bill Cosby

  2. So much talent in one family-mind boggling!Best wishes to the graduate.

  3. I remember you telling me about your baby sister Paula. Congratulations to her on this wonderful new journey. Nothing surprises me about your family. May all good things come her way and yours!

  4. Deirdre Christman

    What a great family you have! But you deserve them. I love the story about you learning to write your sister’s name so she could see it when she came home from the hospital. You know what, your days are sounding pretty normal now. Hooray!

  5. Flaithimh@aol.com

    Congratulations to Paula!

  6. You knew then, as a little girl, the gift and power of writing, something you continue to give to so many. Congratulations and thanks are most deserved. Stay strong!

  7. Tough, gutsy, smart, and beautiful must run in your family. Even your kids have carried on that tradition.

  8. Linda Underwood

    Damn! I am so jealous. What I would give for an Apple Store near to go to Apple classes. I think Sarasota may be getting one and I will be first in line. Great news about your sister. Congratulations.

    I am about to start Behind the Beautiful Forevers by K. Boo. And then I have The Daring Ladies of Lowell by K. Alcott, but at the moment am reading pure fun – the latest couple of Hamish McBeth books by M.C. Beaton. Not great fiction but great fun about a tall red haired bachelor small town policeman in a quirky village in the north of Scotland. Entertaining beach read kind of stuff before I start about the slums of India or the factories of Lowell, Massachusetts.

  9. I am really impressed by Paula . You must be so proud!

  10. In the middle of the book… Loving it!

Leave a Reply

