Mercer Arboretum and Botanic Gardens

IMG_3286

I wanted to go to Memorial Park and walk a bit.  Jerry suggested we go somewhere we had never been.  So we found this beautiful place just north of Houston.   The traffic was ridiculous on the way there (I think Jerry was regretting that we didn’t go to Memorial Park) but once we got there, we fell in love with the place.  There were pathways to flower gardens and walking trails to fountains and a turtle pond.  Almost everything was labeled so we learned a little as we went along.  We were surrounded by beauty and peace and stillness.  What a wonderful three days we’ve had being tourists in Houston.  IMG_3281

I wore one of my scarves when we went out.  I usually don’t do that because I feel as if it’s like wearing a sign “I’ve had chemo and don’t have any hair” but I knew it was going to be hot and didn’t want the wig.  And then I got brave and had Jerry take some pictures of the “real me” without the scarf.  My hair IS growing in.  It’s funny…white on the sides and front, dark on the top.  When you color your hair you really IMG_3283don’t know what it really looks like unless you quit coloring it or something like this happens.  It’s going to be interesting to see what I’ll look like in a month or so.  For now, I’ll keep my wig and scarves.

Beautiful day. Quiet day.  We had tuna noodle casserole for dinner. I know…not a typical Easter dinner.  We had a wonderful salmon dinner the other night that we had planned to have for Easter but decided to have early.  Anne and I were talking about childhood favorites and she mentioned tuna casserole and it sounded perfect to me…old fashioned comfort food.  So I made it…First meal I’ve made since surgery.  Okay, not impressive…cook the noodles, throw everything in the casserole dish and stick it in the oven until it bubbles.  But as you know, I celebrate EVERY accomplishment…even the little ones are big ones in my book.

IMG_3288

17 thoughts on “Mercer Arboretum and Botanic Gardens

  1. Marvelous. Traditional yummy tuna casserole – beautiful trails among flowers and wildlife (turtles) – and pictures of the “real” you. (Also beautify!) Gorgeous day here – and appears the same where you are. Happy Easter! Love, Barb G.

  2. Wendie Highsmith

    Mary-Looks like a gorgeous place, and the weather cooperated! Yes, that first time you go bear- headed, it is a jolt, yet it is you, and testimony to what you’ve been doing. Many get curly hair initially-“chemo curl.” I did, it was fun. It was kind of frothy. The curls didn’t last, but that was ok. I had hair again and eyebrows. You two, look like tourists! Yeah! Wendie

    _____

  3. Sharon Cullinan

    You are looking fabulous my girl. Maybe your hair will come in curly 😀 Happy Easter

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE DROID

  4. Happy, Happy Easter! You both look fantastic (Jerry, you too, considering all you both have been through). What a beautiful surrounding and a glorious day. Inspiration all around!

  5. Deirdre Christman

    Looks like you had a GREAT Easter! Nothing wrong with tuna noodle casserole, especially since you were able to make it – and EAT it. Hooray!

  6. Love your new hair and hairdo. I think you look chic and much hipper than with the wigs! Go for it!

    Tuna casserole. Most Friday nights at my childhood home for us kids.I loved it! Thanks for the memory!

  7. Yay hair! You were smart to have your virgin hair reveal when it was just you and Jerry. I decided that my birthday was the perfect day for mine. Problem was it was right as I was headed into the RMV to have my license photo retaken. It was a “Towanda” moment for me and I felt so empowered. Then I felt 4 years of regret as I had to live with that photo lol!!

  8. It sounds like you had a wonderful day (except for the traffic). You have a thoughtful husband to give you such a special Easter adventure. Any bunny sightings?
    Mary you look wonderful and that tuna casserole was an amazing accomplishment! Good for you!

  9. Your beauty doesn’t require hair!!!
    Hope you’re planning to publish these….I, for one, am so enjoying these essays!
    Keep smiling…
    Mary -Ellen

  10. Gee, Mary, you and Jerry blend right in with the other flowers!
    BTW, hair is over-rated!

  11. My mother didn’t like to cook, but tuna casserole was her specialty ( every Friday). To me, it is the epitome of comfort food—agood choice.
    That place looks lovely and so do you!.

  12. Lovely place for lovely people!

  13. Do you remember my hair when it came back after chemo? Jet black with gray on the sides-I never had black hair! I had fun spiking it when it was coming back-kids loved it and Steve ummm not so much.😃 I am glad to see that you getting out and eating real food. Cooking is no small task on any day. Keep it up! Love ya, G.🐢

  14. Tuna casserole! You’re ahead of me, girl. Don’t ever think I made one. Tom and I both remember salmon casserole. We both agree, yuck! Now I’m jealous! We are way behind you with the blooms. Spring bulbs are showing and I’
    m planting seeds. Guess I’ll have to go to Smith College for an indoor treat. Keep sharing the tourist sites and keep on being beautiful.

  15. you are beautiful with or without hair.

  16. What a beautiful day at a magnificent place. Good for you to lose the scarf and wig for the day. I say go for it…. You look beautiful with hair, no hair, etc…..
    Sounds like a perfect day. The tuna casserole made me hungry for it. You already cook more than I do. Enjoy another beautiful day!

  17. You look beautiful, Mary! 🙂

Leave a Reply

