Massage

1239390_10154010284995647_317834752_nFirst, I’m probably going to keep going on the blog simply because I like to write.  For those of you who would rather not have my ramblings clutter up your email box, it’s really simple to unsubscribe. Just scroll down to the bottom of the latest email and click on “Unsubscribe” and they should stop coming to you.

Next, all is STILL good.  I’m eating…little bits but anything and everything.  Stopped at Paneras for lunch today and had (of course) their mac and cheese.  Had some oatmeal this morning.  I’m obsessed with eating…remembering to have a mid morning and mid afternoon snack…It’s important because the feeding tube goes if I can show that I can maintain or gain weight.  I honestly would prefer NOT to gain any weight…maintaining would be fine with me.  I will need new clothes (better warn Jerry, huh?)  Good thing Goodwill is down the road.  POC…I don’t think I’ll ever have to worry about my weight again. Not that I’d recommend esophageal cancer as a weight loss program…there are better ways to do it.

I went over to Anderson for a massage today.  It was wonderful.  I just wanted to see what it would do for my back.  The back ache is under control if I take the Tramadol on time and don’t try to stretch it or skip doses.  But it is absolutely unbearable if I try to stretch it.  Yesterday we were really late coming home from the MD Anderson and so in spite of fabulous news…I could eat, I was cancer free…all I could think of was my back. (which is why I never wrote the blog post until later on in the evening.)  I was doubled over from the pain and the Tramadol didn’t kick in for a couple of hours after I took it because I had let it go too long.   Today I was smarter…brought a pill with me…Didn’t need it….the massage took care of the back.  I did take the Tramadol when I got home…didn’t want to push my luck.  I’ve learned my lesson.

Jerry and I stopped to see Ron and Linda Orum after my massage.  They live on the east coast of Florida…are friends of a friend of mine from yoga.  Ron had a fifteen hour surgery for cancer last Monday….is doing great….We brought him pumpkin muffin tops from Paneras.  He could eat but nothing appealed to him.  Yesterday when we stopped in, he said the only thing he might enjoy were the muffin tops…Glad we got them.  He looked terrific.  Those guys at MD Anderson certainly know their stuff.

Quiet weekend ahead.  Anne and Clark will be in Colorado with my sister, Paula.  We’re not going to Flower Mound…a trip like that still seems overwhelming to me (I’m such a wimp)  We ARE going to Flower Mound next Friday and will be there for almost two weeks.  Anyway, Jerry and I will have a quiet Easter and yes, I’ll find some good chocolate and savor every bite.

I was complaining to Jerry this morning that I was having a “bad hair day”…It is coming back.  It’s short but for some reason, earlier this morning it was sticking up every which way….like Einstein with a lot less hair.  It’s white on the sides and dark brown/black on top….I hadn’t seen my real color in years..interesting.  I’m not ready to go out without a scarf or wig…still looks pretty scary to me.  I was going to have Jerry take a picture and post it but I just can’t do it.  He thinks it looks fine but he thinks everything about me is fine.  How on earth did I luck out when I found this man?

I just got Invention of Wings from the library for my Kindle.  Can’t wait to read it.  Have to finish my mystery/thriller first but then I can read it.  And Clark loaned me a Henning Mankell.  Love that guy.  I have tons to read, that’s for sure.

Thanks, Tennley, for the quote below!  Breast cancer, esophageal cancer…this better be it.  I am so done with cancer.

1532037_10152371084591788_744365947107337789_n

 

10 thoughts on “Massage

  1. “I am so done with cancer”

    Amen to that!

  2. Would love to see your hair when you’re ready! When my hair thinned out during my chemo, I was surprised that most of what fell out was gray…the black stayed put! It’s all such a mystery.

    Panera’s Mac & cheese, chocolate, muffin tops, back massages, new clothes, dark hair, Henning Mankell…ain’t life grand!

    P.S. I’m staying subscribed; I’m enjoying the blog!

  3. The massage sounds wonderful. I’m glad you were able to enjoy it.
    What do you think about Chelsea Clinton’s news? Boy or Girl?

  4. I read a poem once that your blog brought to mind, “He who bends to himself a joy, doth the winged life destroy. But he who kisses the joy as it flies, dwelling eternity’ sunrise.”
    (William Blake)
    Keep writing,my friend!

  5. I am so happy to hear that you beat it again…cancer free! Sure is an answer to lots of prayers huh?
    Just continue to make sure you take a Tramadol with you everywhere….just can’t miss the chance to whoop and holler when you get that wonderful news! Keep on eating girl….you’ve gotta make up for lost time!
    I so look forward to your blog each day not only to find out how you’re doing but they make me happy because you’re doing so well! I’m going to have rotator cuff surgery next Wed. so maybe you could say a little prayer for me….turtles will have to wait awhile for both of us. It’s rainy here this afternoon so you’re not missing anything!
    Continue to eat and regain your strength so you can get back here! Pam G

  6. How nice to read simple little things like what you had for lunch and mid morning and mid afternoon snacks. If that is the most complicated your days are going to be . . . how wonderful! And hair is coming in. You are on a healing fast track now! Neat quote at the end. Love, Barb G.

  7. Lucky you, lucky Jerry! You two are a great pair! Happy Easter … I am counting my blessings this year and you are among them. Enjoy the day and the chocolate. Oh, to be able to eat again! Am sure no-one appreciates that as much as you! Love, love, and more love!

  8. Hi Mary,
    I have been faithfully reading your blog and am SO glad that you are progressing well! I may not always write, but I want you to know that you’ve been in my thoughts and prayers right along. I am very proud of you and am thrilled that you will continue writing your “newsy tales”. It is so much fun to hear about the happenings in your life and to absorb your advice and wisdom…I think the world of you.
    Happy Easter to you and Jerry!! Cathy W.
    PS: You have a lot to celebrate. 😀

  9. I always look for your blogs and emails. I love your musings as I often marvel at the clarify of voice inside your words. I have always appreciated your perspective which at times has made me stronger. You are a dear friend. Knowing how well you are doing brings me joy.

  10. Happy Easter to you and Jerry. You are wise to stay put for the holiday. Try to at least bite off a few chocolate bunny ears and savor the taste. Glad to see that you are starting to enjoy eating again. Keep on eating in small doses so you can be relieved of your feeding tube. Let me know how you enjoy the “invention of Wings.” That’s on my reading list, too. Relax and rejoice!!!!

    PS Just finished the “Goldfinch.” It was a bit wordy but I liked it–not crazy about the ending but I got it!!!

Leave a Reply

