Home!

Whew!  We’re home.  Well, we’re at Anne’s.  I think Jerry and Sean unpacked for an hour and a half….Mostly meds and setting up the food pump and feeding me and pumping in meds through the feeding tube.  Poor guys…they’re doing great but it’s got to be so stressful for them and I just sit there and tell them to make sure they’re doing the right thing and to be careful and don’t squirt stuff all over Anne’s rug….What a pain I am. They are so good and so patient and they really do know what they’re doing….but it is funny to watch the two of them reading instructions and finding the right stuff and figuring out what to do next.

The wheelchair to bring you out is interesting….has tons of storage space for all the ‘stuff” you’ve accumulated while you were there.  Like the bear?  It’s to hold against my chest when I cough so I don’t hurt so much.  It sort of works.

So Sean is now tutoring online and Jerry is checking his email and I am relaxing on Anne’s couch upstairs with the sun pouring in the windows…so beautiful to leave MD Anderson on a sunny day.  Even the trees and grass looked greener than they did a week ago.  I am one very happy camper.

Next steps….In the next few days, the report from the biopsies they did from the surgery should be posted on my website.  Dr. Mehran (surgeon) expects they’ll be just fine. If they’re not fine…well, we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.  Dr. Mehran will  go over them with me next Wednesday when I go in for an x-ray, blood work and a barium swallow.  If the barium swallow goes fine, they’ll start me on clear liquids, then after they see how I tolerate that, it’s thicker things…smoothie, maybe, cream soups…I’m not sure.  We’ll take it one day at a time.

Again, thanks for the encouragement, the prayers, the good thoughts and energy.  I am still in shock that it’s really me doing all this.  Usually I’m not sick.

Heading home..

Heading home..

20 thoughts on “Home!

  1. Mary you are amazing! You look beautiful! I miss you and send all my love….keep up the positive attitude.

  2. Wendie Highsmith

    Mary-You look great! Keep up the good work–it shows. xo, wendie

    _____

  3. I’m so happy that you’re on the final lap of this marathon! You’ve been through so much and soon you’ll be home free!

  4. Terry Marrion

    Keep on truckin”, Mary!

  5. suzgaryw@embarqmail.co

    Mary, you look amazing! What a great patient and how blessed you are.

  6. So glad! Keep up the good work and be a well behaved patient!

  7. You look terrific, Mary. Sending all my love, Sonia

  8. Your smile in that unique wheelchair gives us all a huge lift. Just think . . . you are heading home!!!! Wonderful to see that cute teddy bear to help you along the way (not Jerry – the “TEDDY” bear). 🙂 Love, Barb G.

  9. Oh Mary, I’ve been thinking about you all day long, hoping this was what I was going to see! I love the moving van. Needed that just for all the photos Erin wallpapered with. Those funny, brave, sweet menfolk of yours – just love the picture you painted. It’s great. So happy your on these last laps, you’ve got most of the distance behind you. Lots of love and (gentle) hugs, Shirley

  10. Mary, so glad your wish to go “home” came true. As for your “nurses”, don’t forget to give them some positive reinforcement. They are holding a lot of power in their hands. (A little like the custodians did back at school.) Also they are so cute! You don’t want them walking off the job. Jerry looks great in the picture. I’m sure he’s proud of you and your fighting spirit! Wishing you happy thoughts and a calm and peace filled recovery. Love, Mary

  11. Your magnetic personality shines in the photo going home! What a challenge conquered! You are truly amazing. I am sure you will glow with family energy and you will be having a smoothie in no time! It is the way I start the day and I put so many goodies in mine that it holds me till around 4. Love them. Hang in there. You are surrounded by love, love ones and love energy. Enjoy it.

  12. The sweetest word ever–HOME! It represents so many good things for you, Mary…..rest, recovery, family, warmth, peace, love, comfort, and so much more. I’m so happy you have come so far so well. God blessyou and keep your wonderful attitude. It’s seen you through so much. Love and prayers to all of you.

  13. Moriarty Geraldine

    You look great!!

    Just amazing –

    Hugs! Hugs! Hugs!!

    g

  14. You’re smile is always so bright, but this time you project peace; maybe there is relief for coming so far. But Jerry looks whiped out, deservedly so. I am so glad you have all that support at home and send kudos to all who are nursing you now. Your job is to just get well, as you will.

  15. Once again, great news. You look great in your “sleigh” wheelchair. So glad you are back at Ann’s. Sounds like “the boys” are getting a work-out…how lucky you are to have them! But you know that! All the news from the docs sure sounds positive and I’m sure it’s smooth sailing from here on!

  16. God Bless Mary and her family! I just read your blog to my husband, Joe, in between tear drops, you are amazing. Love and Hugs, Susie xxx

  17. You look fabulous. Not many do it so quickly & with such style!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  18. A new beginning! Love and happiness….. Food will come soon!!!

  19. Mary, You look amazing! I’m so impressed with how quickly you manage to handle everything with such a positive attitude and incredible strength. I hope I grow up to be like you.. xo 🙂

  20. I love the teddy bear I remember (don’t know when but at some point in my life) they told you to grab a pillow to cough. How much more comforting to hug a bear! You look awesome- and home is so wonderful ! Keep healing!!

Leave a Reply

