Slowly But Surely

IMG_0507

I like the quote above.  The best thing about this place is that no matter what happens, the staff has been there, done that…aren’t worried, tell me it’s normal.  I have no reason to be afraid.  They tell me everything.  They’re just amazing.  They never roll their eyes when I say I want to sit up and then change my mind and decide to take a nap; when I want to take a walk and they get all the tubes unhooked and I don’t last long.  They’re here in a flash when I ring my call button, reassure me that I’m “easy” and laugh when I apologize for whining.  Nice, nice people who know exactly what they’re doing.  I’m in the perfect place. (By the way, I did last long on my most recent walk…seven laps.  I told Sean each lap was a mile…ha ha…not quite.  It’s a nice little walk around this pod and the one down the hall)

Today is a good day.  Erin was here fairly early in the morning.  Jerry went to the Apple Store for a lesson on the Mac.  Then Erin left to head home to her little ones and I took a nap.  Jerry came in after my nap.  I’ve had my moments when the pain was unbearable….and walking was the cure again.  Walking and sitting in the chair.  Chairs are better than the bed, I think.  I wonder if I should sleep in the chair tonight.

Call the Midwife is on tonight.  I may actually turn on the TV.  I haven’t used the TV at all but I love that show.   And it’s on early in Texas.  Central Time Zone has its benefits.

Dr. Ho stopped in today.  He said it looked like I was doing just fine…would probably be out of here by the end of the week.

End of the week?  I thought I was getting out on Tuesday.  He’s probably more realistic.  I still have way too many tubes sticking out of me to be ready to go by Tuesday.  I’m not in a huge rush, to be honest.  I know I’m not ready.  And I figure I’ll know when I am.  Besides, I don’t have a pain pump at Anne’s house.  Yep, I’ll stick around until I’m really ready to get out. Right now, I cannot even visualize such simple things as getting up, taking a shower, making a cup of tea, getting in the car and driving to yoga.  That seems as impossible to me as flying, walking on water or walking through walls.  But I do know I will be able to do all those things and more in time (not the flying, walking on water or walking through walls…just the other stuff)

A few more quotes….IMG_0508IMG_0509

18 thoughts on “Slowly But Surely

  1. You are doing so well, I am astounded at your progress so soon after surgery. Good idea to get that wonderful help from the professionals at MDAnderson (and the pain management!) as long as you can. I also think your own family has been a pretty great professional team themselves. Wow. They are impressive. You are making more progress each 24 hours. Keep it up! 🙂 Love, Barb G.

  2. Remember slow and steady wins the race!
    Xoxo

    • Mary you are an amazing and inspirational woman! You will fly thru this just as you have all the tests and chemo and everything else! Your are blessed and will be back doing your yoga and turtle patrol befor you know it! Look how far you’ve come already! You will know when it’s time to leave the hospital and no hurry as they’re taking such good care of you! We’re all still saying our prayers for your speedy recovery but be patient….it’s all waiting for you! PamG

  3. Mary you are doing great! I agree with you it’s difficult to get control of your body in those beds when you are hurting and hooked up to all kinds of tubes. Sitting and walking are good when you are up to it. Sleeping and napping are probably better in bed. But you know best. I’m glad you are listening to your body and your doctor about leaving the center. Bernie and I are so happy about your progress.
    Enjoy “Call to the Midwife”. Love, Mary

  4. You will do it all!

  5. I’ll be thinking of you when I watch, CALL THE MIDWIFE! Now is the time when your patience may be put to the test. Yell at us! We’re your friends!

  6. Thinking of you daily…love and hugs – you are a warrior!!

  7. This is the time to whine and fuss….you have earned that right. I would like to do the same sometimes, but cannot find an excuse. Sounds to me like you are making steady progress. Each day you are able to do a little more. Enjoy those victories!
    Bless Jerry, Sean, Erin and families. They are quite a team– able to handle all kinds of help and care for you.
    Before too long, you will all be celebrating together- the beginning of a new healthy life for you. Keep up what you are doing……it’s working!

  8. You’re selling yourself short….I’d shoot for walking on water!!!  So glad you can celebrate the small steps it takes to heal….so many can’t.  It’s been so long since I saw Susie I can’t remember what she looks like!  Long time friend here for at least 2 weeks…but she’s fun to be with and easy to be around…just isn’t “my” life….but I believe getting out of your comfort zone teaches you a lot about not becoming an old fogey!

    Jerri 521 Cedarwood Lane Venice, FL 34293 941-445-4118

    “People are like bicycles.  They can keep their balance only as long as they keep moving.”  Albert Einstein

  9. Karen Pestana

    I don’t know how you do it – you are so brave and strong. So proud to be your friend as you are my inspiration to be the best I can each day. Wise words from Maya Angelou; “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel” You always make me feel special Mary. Sending lots of hugs, kisses, and prayers…Karen xx

  10. Oh, Mary, you DO walk on water! Seriously, though, strolling through the pod sounds just right to me. Hi to Jerry, Erin and Sean.

  11. Barb Greenberg

    Checking up on your recovery progress..sounds as though you are pushing right along..I don’t think that I could walk 7 laps around my pool so I think that you are doing amazing. Stay where you are for as long as they will keep you and take advantage of all the “perks.” Bob and I will be joining you in spirit tonight when you watch Call the Midwife…we are so glad it is on again this season! If you can’t make it through the show hopefully Erin or Ann will record it for you to watch in the future. Keep on “trucking”!! XXOO

  12. Deirdre Christman

    Stay there as long as you can and let the professionals wait on you. Actually, the nurses may not let you go home until you dance a jig AND walk on water, both of which are possible in the next week or so.

  13. Isn’t the body amazing? Even tired ones. Each day you heal, that’s the goal, and some days you measure tiny strides that when you look back, you were still moving forward. The YOU HAVE ARRIVED sign is now in sight. Hope to see you this summer and we can try walking on water!

  14. Carol Connery

    Hey Mary-You are getting stronger and stronger each day, and yes, you are Super Woman!! I would be the biggest baby and wouldn’t want to walk (just give me the drugs!), and here you are getting up and taking those steps to being well. I watched “Call the Midwives” for the first time, thanks to you, and loved it!! Not only are you my book and life guru, now add t.v. shows!! A great big hug your way, and, I say, go for a stroll in your johnny an moon as much as you like!

  15. Karen Rafferty

    Good news dear friend! Keep getting stronger…and yes, stay in there as long as you need to so that you are the best you can be (for now) when you get home 🙂

  16. Wendies Email

    One step at a time. One day at a time. One step… Are there reports from the lab that need to come back?

    Wendie Sent from my iPhone

  17. Seven laps…my gosh what progress. A smile on your face, a family filling you with love and a marvelous medical staff to guide your way…life is amazing

Leave a Reply

