Red Sox

10013685_10203386255881918_445915467_nNo beach yesterday.  We all headed for a Red Sox vs. Rays game in Fort Myers.  We brought our lunch and tailgated before the game (never saw the note on the parking ticket that said “No tailgating.”  Oops.)

IMG_3129Great game (I know….I know…some of you are Rays fans but for US it was a great game)  The kids were mildly interested but could be kept amused with snacks and assorted little toys.  The sun was HOT so Jerry and I moved to the shade about halfway through.  image

When we got home the kids immediately were in their suits and in the pool. The adults sat around, ate pizza and made sure no one killed anyone else doing flips and dives and twists and somersaults into the pool (where do they get their energy?)  Declan, Calli and I piled into my bed to play games on the iPad after supper….and then Erin rescued me, 1970413_10202967449894477_1006398437_ntook the kids and I think I fell asleep before they were out of the room.  Sweet Calli left saying , “I’m so glad I have a nana.”  I answered “And I’m so glad I have a Calli.”

Beach today.  Hard to believe Jerry and I will be heading back to Houston in a week.  That seems like another life, another world.  I can almost forget it when I’m on the beach or playing with the kids…almost but not quite.  It is quite obvious to me that I still have a long way to go before this is over.  But I’m doing fine…one day at a time.

 

11 thoughts on “Red Sox

  1. You can’t ask for more than fine one day at a time.

  2. This is simply the most joyful news to read about you and your family enjoying love and life this morning, Mary. Terrific! Love, Barb G.

  3. So, it’s the old “I never saw the sign” trick!! Good thing they leave tomorrow in the rain…will make it. Little easier for all!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. Mary-Ellen Gartner

    I guess you’re doing fine!! Who’d have thought you’d be feeling up for a baseball game? And then pool and play time? You’re a marvel!

    >

  5. Thinking of you, Mary, all the way!

  6. Pixie Holbrook

    You’re doing all the right things for healing and strengthening. Vitamin D from the sun for your body, Vitamin Love from your grandkids for your heart and Vitamin Red Sox for your spirit!!!!!

  7. So happy for you to be able to spend all this time with the Littles! I love the smiles on their faces, and yours, in all the wonderful pictures you’ve posted. Happy memories you are making!

  8. Read this on a piece of art work and I jotted it down:
    This bright new day… complete with 24 hours of opportunities, choices, and attitudes. A perfectly matched set of 1440minutes. This unique gift this one day, cannot be exchanged, replaced, or refunded. Handle with care. Make the most of it. There is only one to a customer.
    Mary, you always make the most of every day. You always have. Thinking of you, Mary

  9. Deirdre Christman

    I’m so thankful you’re who you are. No one would ever believe you’ve just spent months in treatment for cancer!

  10. We all know the real you and you have exemplified it beautifully.

  11. You are preparing yourself well in body and mind and radiate love and peace. Stay strong knowing so many are on your side sending our belief that all will be fine.

Leave a Reply

