Waiting

The Texans are in the air and will land in Tampa around 9:30.  Usually we pick them up…drive up in two cars and hand over one, complete with carseats and booster seats, to Erin and Brent and drive the other one back home.  This time, though, Erin and Brent were worried about my driving to Tampa, especially at night, so Brent searched and got a great deal on a car rental.  God bless them both.  We could have gone to Tampa…I’m not as helpless as they think I am…but this is nice…just relaxing at home waiting for their arrival.

The weather isn’t promising…tomorrow we have thunder showers all day.  The rest of the week might be better.  Hope so.  All the kids really want to do is beach and pool (and kayaking with yellow boats!)

All’s well here.  I’m hanging in there.  I’m constantly drinking my smoothies or Ensure.  Ice cream is great too.  Everything else…well, on good days (like today) everything else is fine, too.  On bad days, well, nothing goes.  And then I get mighty frustrated…until the next day when all is well.

Yoga is still wonderful.  And I went to Book Club yesterday at the local library.  It’s an amazing group of women who actually discuss the book for 90 minutes.  This month we read Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo.  What a shocker that book was.  It took my breath away.  I was horrified…not so much at the poverty but at the corruption within the police department and charity organizations.  It’s hard to read a book like this but I think we need to know what’s going on.

IMG_0469

15 thoughts on “Waiting

  1. carol connery

    So happy your family is on their way! The littles will be the best medicine for you- just keep hugging them ( and eat more ice cream) 🙂

  2. Deirdre Christman

    Enjoy those precious grandchildren! Hope you get to go out in yellow kayaks. Yellow is my favorite color too!

  3. Mary, I’m so happy your family will be with you this week. Enjoy your time despite the weather. The kids will be happy anyway. We will be in the Houston area. We’re flying the opposite way on Monday. Can’t wait to see Clare. I’ll kiss and hug her for you.
    On another note, I read Behind the Beautiful Forevers about a year ago. It’s one of those books that stays with you always. Have you read Etched in Sand by Regina Calcaterra? It’s another survival story. I’m sure it will inspire you. Blessings always.

  4. Debbie George

    You are that believer!!! Enjoy the family and may the sun shine!

  5. Have fun with your Texans!

  6. Glad your loves will be arriving at your door. Good idea with their car rental. Take care and smooth swallowing, sweet friend. Love, Barb G.

  7. The waiting is the hardest until the grandchildren burst through the door and throw their arms around you. Enjoy their squeals and laughter and your own.

    Have a wonderful time with them.

    SMILE. Life is good

  8. The rainy day should promote family bonding…or flight! I’d u need to hide, come over!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  9. Wendie Highsmith

    So she did!!

    _____

  10. Karen Rafferty

    What a boost having the kids there will be. I just love the hearing their voices and laughing at the things they say. And those eyes! I am sure your weather will turn out just fine!
    Keep hanging in there my friend – you are doing great! xox

  11. Gail Shattuck

    I read that book too. Haunting.

  12. Pixie Holbrook

    Grandkids and ice cream. The perfect medicine!!!

  13. Let the fun begin!!! Love, Mary

  14. I predict sunshine and smiles, even when it rains. Enjoy!

  15. How exciting and invigorating having your grandkids visiting…that’ll put the spirit in you! Too bad the weather’s a bit cool but as you said, the kids don’t care! Had to be exciting seeing the dolphins. Going to get warmer today so possibly a great sunset evening on the beach! So glad to hear that you’re gaining some weight and having more energy each day….go girl! Have a fun weekend. Pam G

Leave a Reply

