Wonderful Weekend

1897668_10151975339800875_1348702621_n

It doesn’t get much better than this.  The weather has been heavenly.  And I’m feeling stronger every day.  And, very slowly, I’m beginning to gain weight.  It’s hard to believe that I still have trouble with swallowing and keeping foods down from time to time.  I thought I’d be past all that by now.  Still, the general trend is up, so I’m not complaining. (not much anyway)  I can eat everything  some of the time and some things all of the time.  I just can’t everything all of the time.

Yesterday Jerry and I went to Sarasota to a musical at Florida Studio Theater.  We get seasons tickets each year with friends from Anna Maria Island (Linda and Rich Morassi)  I actually was looking forward more to seeing Linda and Rich than I was to seeing the show, but both were just wonderful.  We sat outside at a sidewalk cafe for a snack before the show (one of my favorite things to do in Florida) and watched the world go by.

The show was Daddy Long Legs.  I vaguely remembered the film.  I thought it was made in the 40s but it turns out it was in the 50s and was a musical first time around too…with Fred Astaire and Leslie Caron. (You were right, Rich) The remake was a 2007 version, simply delightful and totally enjoyable.  There was a line that hit me:

It isn’t the big troubles in life that require character.  Anybody can rise to a crisis and face a crushing tragedy with courage, but to meet the petty hazards of the day with a laugh-I really think that requires spirit,  

I think it’s true.  The big stuff doesn’t knock me for a loop half so much as the little stuff that happens every day.  Getting through the little stuff with grace and humor….now that’s real courage.

I’ve been getting stronger at yoga, managing to “last” through the whole thing without rests, stretching a bit further and a bit longer…so satisfying.  And Tori Weaver has been so good to do Reiki with me almost every morning.  So many different ways to heal, to get stronger, to get better.

Today Gayle Neher stopped by….great to see a Cranberry friend.  We got caught up on school news and compared notes on chemo and treatment.  Gayle’s a breast cancer survivor who worked all the way through her treatment.  What a woman.  I couldn’t have done that.  Even when I was feeling good I needed a nap in the afternoon.

After Gayle left, Jerry and I went downtown to the art fair on West Venice Avenue.  Absolutely beautiful pieces….perfect day to check everything out.   We rarely buy anything but we love seeing everything and bumping into old friends.  It was hard because I can’t stand around and gab the way I used to do and don’t last as long but still I’m so glad we went.

We’re getting ready for Erin and her gang who arrive on Wednesday.  The weather is going to be good, not dazzling.  I ordered low 80s and sun but I think we’re getting low 70s with scattered showers for a few days….Not exactly weather for diving into the Gulf although I imagine the kids will be in the water no matter what.  Declan has his heart set on kayaking in a yellow boat (his favorite color is yellow)  I think he plans to pack every toy in the house.  He has new ones and wants me to play with every single one of them.

Two weeks home, a little more than two weeks till we go back….and loving every minute of being home.

15 thoughts on “Wonderful Weekend

  1. Wendie Highsmith

    Sounds divine. You go girl! Wendie

    _____

  2. So glad you’re on the mend and things are getting easier instead of harder.
    I’d ask you to order some spring for us up here but it seems like you’re as skilled as I am in the weather ordering dept!

  3. Mary,
    Sounds like you are on the upswing. Yippee. Get stronger so surgery will go quickly, successfully and all this will be a thing of the past.

  4. So happy to hear that you’re getting stronger and feeling better! Love the picture and quote at the top of this post!!

  5. Love the info about Declan’s yellow. We have one of those, but it’s orange that Matthew loves…don’t leave home without it. He loves a shirt with orange letters which he enjoys wearing EVERY day except when it’s dirty. Well, one day Rebecca got up. She looked around but couldn’t find Matthew. Finally, she went into the laundry room whereupon she found Matthew sitting atop the dryer smiling. “Hi, Mama, my shirt is going to be clean.” He had taken it out of the dirty laundry and put it into the dryer so her could wear it to school. He also loves the number ten and the letter D and gives us every reason to adore him while we quietly laugh. What joys these grandchildren are for sure.

    So glad that Erin, et al are joining you and Jerry for a wondrous time. Believe me, the weather won’t matter for the children; water and sand don’t have temperatures for young’ens and they allow the older folks to watch and admire whatever they do with it. Enjoy every second with them.

    Delighted that you are feeling more Mary-like. Gain weight, enjoy life and smile

  6. These are the days to savor! Glad you could enjoy it!

  7. Debbie George

    So happy all is progressing so well. You do sound ore like the Mary we know- full of life and enjoying whatever comes your way. Perfect timing for Erin and all- as Barb said- weather doesn’t matter to children. Keep gaing strength and weight and have fun. Love the “yellow”,

  8. I thoroughly enjoyed Barb’s post. It sounded so familiar. My Declan/Matthew is Henry. His favorite color is green. He and his mother have spirited debates almost daily as to why he can/can’t wear the same clothes to school everyday. How they make us laugh!! Isn’t that powerful medicine? Wishing
    you a joyful visit with Erin and the gang.

  9. Glad you are enjoying life and getting stronger everyday. Loved the quote about big troubles vs the petty hazards of life…. so true. Have a great time with the little ones.
    Life is good, keep enjoying it! (you and jerry do great at that)

  10. I think you are right about courage! I also know some people can get through the smaller problems with grace and dignity…..and you’re one of those special people! Keep it up as much as possible….great to hear you can wander through an art fair. That kind of walking is tough on back and joints. Mary-Ellen Gartner

  11. I enjoyed our visit. You look wonderful and your spirit is amazing. Gayle

  12. I’m writing from my daughter’s, helping with childcare until Wednesday. Nearly 11 month old Reilly is such a joy. She too has her favorites; her face lights up with her stuffed sea turtle and Monster Inc Boo doll. Who knew it would be so much fun! Enjoy your visit! Stay strong! And continue to find the light…

  13. Happy to hear that you’re feeling so much better, Mary.

    Enjoy the visit with your family (like I have to tell you to do that!).

  14. So glad to hear youbare getting better each day! I heard from Linda S who saw you when you stopped by her booth at the art festival, and she was so glad to see you! I would love to visit when your company (and mine…spring break week) have gone back home if you are up to a brief gab session 🙂 Can you eat chocolate?

  15. Hi Mary, glad things are looking up. I know having the Texans with you will help improve everything. I remember last year we were at the art festival in Venice. I can picture it. So happy that we had that time together, there will be more. take care, love you.

Leave a Reply

