Slowly But Surely

1962686_491538544283782_2131732704_nThis has nothing to do with anything.  It just cracked me up.  I could just picture one of my grandchildren doing this.

All’s well here.  Slowly but surely, I’m getting stronger.  Going from ten minute walks to twenty minute walks, from doing part of yoga to hanging in there for the entire thirty minute session…still a couch potato but trying to sit rather than lie around ALL day.  And, of course, totally loving the warmth, the sun, the beach, sitting on the lanai, visiting with friends.  I haven’t been in the pool yet.  Our water is very warm right now (solar heat) and I know I’d love it…maybe this weekend.

I was talking today to a good friend who was doing Reiki with me about how, for the first time in a long, long time, I’ve been really anxious.  I wasn’t anxious in Houston…felt like everything was proceeding as it was supposed to.  It was when I came home that the me who used to be and the me who is now was so evident.  In Houston I just wasn’t so aware of how weak I had become, how compromised I was.  Here, knowing what I used to be able to do and seeing what I can do now was a shock…even though I kept trying to prepare myself for it.  Gain weight, get stronger…how hard can that be?  Not as easy as I thought, that’s for sure.

So I try to be patient, try to relax and not worry, try to believe that I’m going to be strong enough and weigh enough for surgery.  (Hate to flunk surgery prep!)  Tori reassured me that I’m already strong enough…that many people are totally done in by treatment and I’ll be fine.  How lucky I am to have wise friends in my life.

Margi came by yesterday with her bigger harp.  I told her from now on, I’ll go to HER house.  The bigger harp was even more powerful.  I loved it.  And another friend, Marian, stopped by in the afternoon with a Blizzard from Dairy Queen…Isn’t nice to be able to enjoy something like that and not worry about the calories!  Delicious.

Finally got around to walking the beach at sunset last night.  It was cold (ha ha… I know my definition of cold is way off) There was a  brisk wind but it felt so good to be there.  The sunset was not dazzling but it was still beautiful.  And I was so glad I had gone down.  I’ll be down there EVERY night from now on, I hope (except when it’s raining which is most likely tonight!)

I wrote up a schedule of my coming Spring Adventures.  In general, it’s goes like this:

March 18   Leave Florida

March 20   Begin tests and doctor visits (EKG, echocardiogram, PET scan, endoscopy and biopsy, CT scan)

Weekends in Late March….Erin’s house

April 3   surgery

April 8   Out of hospital (some time around then)

April 22  Leave Houston for Erin’s

May 3    Alannah’s First Communion

May 4…..head back to Florida

May 6  Arrive in Florida

Okay, we all know…People plan, God laughs…We’ll see if it all goes according to plan.

IMG_3086

Margi with her harp

Almost sunset last night

Almost sunset last night

11 thoughts on “Slowly But Surely

  1. Especially enjoyed those last two pictures – the wonderful harp vibrations shot and the “almost sunset.” Happy to know you are gradually getting back to things you love in Florida. Bet you’ll be in your pool soon. And, you’ve got a plan on your calendar – super! Love, Barb G.

  2. Love the picture!
    So glad you have a harpist in your life!
    Trying just to have life normal seems such a gigantic challenge!

  3. I just loved the refrigerator photo. I swear it’s Matthew.

    It was a little more difficult for him to climb on the old refrigerator but he had no trouble getting into the bottom freezer. In fact, he broke the door…one reason for new refrigerator surrounded by new kitchen. The French door refrigerator provides easier access as he is able to climb so effortlessly. After about three hoists on the new fridge, Rebecca put all snacks into the easily accessible drawer so he can get them himself as well as placing drinks on the lower shelf of the door so that he can get to them which he almost always does successfully without spilling.

    We he does have trouble reaching things he has his trusty collapsible orange stool (favorite color) which he carries with him wherever he goes.

    Twenty minutes walking…this is a massive improvement especially combined with a full 30 minute yiga workout. You beat me for sure, I’m the quintessential couch potato.

    SMILE

  4. Okay-camera is ready!! Will you be able to come to a doorway?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  5. I just love the harp idea. It must be very comforting. I am glad to hear you are out walking and going to the beach-two things you love and both will build you back up physically and emotionally. See you soon, my friend. Love, Gayle

  6. Deirdre Christman

    Charlotte climbing in the fridge as a toddler and Sam took the picture and posted it on Facebook.

    So glad you’re starting to return to health, even though realizing the difference before and after provokes anxiety. A lot of people respond to disasters or crises by doing what has to be done and then grieving later. What you’ve gone through requires some grief and of course the worry over the next step.

    Thanks for posting your schedule. I will work around it.

    This trip is full of powerful experiences, but no time to process them. Yesterday we left the hotel and didn’t get back until 10:30. We spent the better part of the last two days visiting recipients of DFW grants in a small village outside Danang. Indelible. I’ll have to show you photos and describe when I see you. Need to go to breakfast and start the day.

    Love you. Deirdre

    Sent from my iPhone

  7. The thought of that harp makes me close my eyes and and hear its gentle music. I can feel its relaxing vibrations all the way here in Massachusetts. I hope it brings you the same peaceful feelings.
    Love, Mary

  8. Everyone should have their own harpist! What a brilliant idea. Hmmm…I was looking for post-retirement employment. Got me thinking.

    Sure, it’s 0 outside up here in western MA, but that sun is shining. The glass is half full. The glass is half full. The glass…

  9. Wendie Highsmith

    Mary-It is so good to read that you are gaining your “momentum.” No one would ever call you a sloucher. A day at a time, one walk at a time. I think most of us need a plan, a roadmap, written in pencil, of course. We don’t know what’s around the corner, but we’re ready. You know what you gotta do, and where there’s room for deviation. May you be well, Wendie

    _____

    • Did you get to sunset tonight…no rain! They were all waiting for you! Try not to compare.. You went thru a big ordeal so it will take some time to rejuvenize you! Margo’s a wonderful friend…I’m sure her harp relaxed and soothed your spirit! I do hope to see you before you return to Texas. E me and we can set up something that would be convenient for you. night, Pam

Leave a Reply

