Ringing the Gong and Heading East

If you’re on Facebook, you’ve already seen these.  Last proton this morning (I cried) and then a short ceremony when I rang the gong (hard for me to talk and thank everyone but I managed to say something)

Ringing the gong at Proton

Ringing the gong at Proton

Heading east early in the morning

Heading east early in the morning

Nice crowd….proton therapists, people who were waiting for proton and a wonderful couple who we met earlier this week who waited for me because they knew it was my last day.

We were on the road before 7:00 am and are in Pensacola, Florida for the night.  Easy drive (easy for me to say…Jerry did ALL the driving) on a beautiful, sunny day (unlike the day many of you are having)

We’ll head out tomorrow morning and be home tomorrow night.  Hurrah.  I was feeling less than terrific today and will be so glad to be in my own bed!

17 thoughts on “Ringing the Gong and Heading East

  1. I never knew ringing a bell and gonging a gong could make me cry so quickly, so much! I just love it – the ceremony, the relief, and most of all, that you’ve done it!! And now, you’re back over the line into Florida. Can’t wait to see you, mostly can’t wait for you to be here to rest, refuel, relax, recuperate. Both of you. Precious cargo, Jerry, great partners, matched pair.

  2. Ah, yes, Mary…your own bed! Nothing like it. Snuggle in and let it welcome you back home!
    Lynne

  3. There’s no place like home. There’s no place like home…

  4. Oh, I’m so glad you are back in Florida. Your own bed will be good but your beach will be grear for your soul! I think I recall that the Littles will be there soon for their visit! That will be lovely for you too! Rest and enjoy the sun, sand, and surf! Three things that currently can’t be found in Massachusetts! 😦

  5. Hooray!!! So proud of you, Mary. It’s wonderful to know you’ll be back home in your own bed. Love, Barb G.

  6. There’s no place like home, in your own bed, in you comfiest pjs…sleep well and deep!

  7. Am sure the gong rang loud and clear— just like your spirit! Rest, rejuvenate, and rejoice that proton and chemo are behind you. Florida, family, and friends await your safe return home. Enjoy all!

  8. Happy Valentine’s Day to you two love birds. You’ll be back to your beach before you know it.
    I’m so so happy for you both. Enjoy being home.
    Love,
    Mary

  9. Welcome home and home welcomes you

  10. So glad you’re on your way home. Enjoy it, Mary, and rest.

  11. We await your arrival in joy!

  12. So glad you are headed back to sunny Florida. The weather is beautiful! So thankful you included me in your blog…I am in awe of you…and Jerry.
    Much love to you!

  13. So happy you are almost home to feel the comfort of your own bed and the inspiration of your sunsets.

  14. So happy for you and Jerry!!!

  15. Hooray!! Ring away!!! See you soon!!!!

  16. YEAH>>>WAY TO GO!

  17. So grateful that you are done with the proton therapy. Safe travels.

Leave a Reply

