Back From Flower Mound

We left Flower Mound before 9:00 this morning. The forecast was just too scary to wait around.  Freezing rain, sleet, snow, icy roads..yuk..And getting worse as the day progressed.  Better to head out and head south to Houston.  As a result, we had clear sailing all the way to Houston (some nasty rain but not freezing rain), made it home in record time..enough time for a nap and I still could get things done that were on my “to do” list.  Quiet house…Kim flew out this morning. Anne and Clark are away on business until Tuesday night.

Lori sings in Italian to Calli

Erin and Calli

Lana and Brent

Lana and Jerry

Lana and Jerry

We had such a good time last night at dinner at Macaroni Grill.  Calli picked it. She loves their mac and cheese and loves being able to draw on the table (paper table cloth, lots of crayons for the kids)  The waitress was one of the sweetest, loveliest young women I have met in a long time.  She made a fuss over Calli, took such good care of all of us and sang “Happy Birthday” in Italian to her when she brought her little cake at the end.  Calli was enchanted.  We all were.

So we’re back for the final two chemos, final nine Protons.  We met with Dr. Ho’s PA on Friday…great guy who could answer my long list of questions about the next steps.  Lots of things on the calendar already…everything, really, except the surgery…the CT and PET scans, the echocardiogram, ECT, endoscopy, meetings with doctors, bloodwork…We have a full calendar beginning on March 20 (although I think we might make a quick trip to Flower Mound for the weekend during that time) The only reason, it seems, that they would NOT do surgery is if the CT or PET scans showed that the cancer had really spread to multiple sites and it wasn’t worth it…Then we’d so back to more chemo first.  They would postpone surgery, however, if I wasn’t strong enough.  Kevin, the PA, emphasized that I need to “get ready” for this with a high protein diet, plenty of rest and exercise.  It sounded like I was getting ready for a marathon…the way he described it. I guess in a way it is.

So I’m going to be pretty obsessive, I guess, about protein smoothies and becoming even more self absorbed than I am already.  Lord, I can be tiresome.

I’m “wiped out” tonight…probably from the trip.  It takes major energy to climb the stairs tonight.  Time to curl up on the couch and watch some of the Super Bowl until Downton Abbey is on!

I did some reading about the surgery and recovery last night.  I guess I was ready to take a look at what’ s ahead.  It isn’t pretty but lots of people have gone before me and come out the other end and I will too.  This is such a good place to be.  They’ve done so many of these.  I know they’ll take good care of me and all will be well.  What’s the saying “All will be fine in the end.  If things are not fine, it isn’t the end.”

A few good quotes.  Erin had them on her Pinterest site.  Thanks, Erin.  So much continues to “go right” in our live…most recently the trip back to Houston from Flower Mound.  Life is not perfect, but, oh yes, life is wonderful. 2dd73a00fea0e1987edd50b3f12c4e34

daaa3bfee6e3d6434a269a6fdbb136e9

17 thoughts on “Back From Flower Mound

  1. I love the quotes…do what the Doctors say… I am so happy you are in such good hands in Houston. That was the first great decision followed by so many more. Eat, rest, exercise and keep doing what you are doing, because it’s working!

  2. You are so inspiring! I pray for you every night and I’m that with your attitude and strength you will be just fine!

  3. Yes, you are so inspiring .Nicole prays for you every night and I pray for you every morning. I am sure there are many others praying for you in-between so we have you covered, my friend. I loved reading your post tonight, sitting on my recliner watching the Super Bowl commercials and doing school work. What a nice weekend you had.Glad you missed all the bad weather. Seems like another big storm coming in the middle of the week. Enjoyed your pictures, but no picture of Declan this week??
    Good luck tomorrow.

  4. Live the quotes. They are so true. I have a family joke that If something is cool I say. I’m going to put that in needlepoint and hang it in the living room. These quotes should be in needlepoint for you. Xo. See you soon.

  5. Sending you hugs and prayers! Glad you got in a visit with the Littles!

  6. The Littles are definitely not Little, they are B – I – G. In fact, they are the biggest for they fill your heart and soul with love and give you the inspiration to move forward and do what needs to be done. They help keep you in the right frame of mind, focused and you.

    Lots of good protein, exercise, etc, but not so much that you get tuckered out. Enjoy the homestretch and marvel at what you and the docs have accomplished. You and your team are amazing as are your fans. We support you, support you, support you.

  7. OK perhaps this is asking for TMI but what’s the scope of the surgery? Just curious I guess. And yes I agree, reading up on it means you are ready to face it. It’s amazing how our minds know just what we are ready to handle. You’ll do fine, you’ll be fine. Heck you’ll be asleep, and the docs have to do all the work 🙂

  8. I love your quotes. I am rooting for a go on the surgery and confident you have the most experienced team with you. I feel momentum flowing your way.

  9. So happy the weather cooperated for your trip back to Houston. The pictures at the Macaroni Grill
    are magical. Who had a better weekend than you?
    Love ya,
    Mary

  10. Deirdre Christman

    Glad you had such a good time with the littles and you’re home safe and sound. The Annette Funicello quote is so poignant, given that she died last spring of MS. She was my idol when I was a child, and now that I look back I see she was a pretty damn good one. Speaking od Downton Abbey, I just finished a good book I know you would enjoy about the servants who wait on the Bennets in “Pride and Prejudice.” It’s “Longbourne” by Jo Baker. Good story and we’ll written, but not a must for discussion.

  11. You say your full calendar begins on March 20th? That’s the first day of Spring…renewal and warmth!
    Hugs and good wishes from The Groundhog and me.

  12. Your thoughts enrich our lives! Thank you, my friend.

  13. All is well, even when it is not perfect. When has it ever been perfect for other than brief moments of time? One step at a time. Things always feel hard until they are over. It sounds like you are having a very good time with everyone around you, so carry on. Prayers continue for you.

  14. Lucky grandmas, we!! Brenna & Kaylee were over yesterday for several hours just to play. They chased butterflies, caught one…well maybe that was a moth, played bacci ball & baseball with Grandpa, etc. What a JOY grandchildren are! So glad you are having the chance to spend time with yours! Those are the times that ARE perfect!

  15. Hi Mary,
    It is such a joy and an inspiration to read your thoughts. My Jim has gone though so much and now the O2 loss that is causing the dementia is hard to take. Your tidbits do so much to help. I can tell you that Jim did not have the operation. His oncologist said that after the pet scan, he was cancer free and did not advise it. We did take his advice and Jim has been cancer free for 11 years! What more can one ask for? This is Not what is going to kill him. We see the oncologist once a year, but visit his office once every 4 weeks for a B12 shot. Life is good and we have been blessed with 55 years of marriage, most of which were heathy years!
    Stay strong, dear Mary!
    Luv,
    Lou

    • Hi Mary,
      Your words and spirit always give me encouragement! One foot in front of the other… and of course those beautiful grandchildren!
      There is a very tasty organic protein powder that I like very much. I make a smoothie with yogurt, fruit and add the powder. It is called tera’s whey (it is a whey protein), lots of flavors, and very good quality. The chocolate is very good. It’s made in Wisconsin. I get it at a food co-op, but it is available on line.
      Take care,
      Elaine

  16. We are hanging in there with you…every step of your way. Stepping, sliding, crawling, shoving, dancing and leaping. We’ll be there for it all!

Leave a Reply

