Thirty-two Years Ago

He grew up!

He grew up!

Thirty two years ago about this time, Jerry had just come back from bringing Erin to his parents.  We were in the middle of a big snowstorm (which would change to ice later on) and it was time to head to the hospital to welcome Sean into the family.  I was on crutches (broke my leg two months before) and slipped and slid on the path Jerry had shoveled from the back door to the car.  What a mess.

Fortunately we made it to the hospital amid the ice and snow and the delivery was a fairly easy one….easy enough that the doctor let Jerry deliver Sean (See he’s been doing nursing/medical stuff for ages)  Jerry didn’t have much fun when it was time to head home.  He spent about an hour chipping ice off the windshield before he could drive away that night.

Anyway, that was a long time ago and that little baby has grown up to be an amazing man who is everything a mom could want in a son.  And he was smart enough to find a good woman who is everything a mom could want for her son.  Happy Birthday, Sean…and thanks for helping carry me through these fun, fun times.

We met with Dr. Nguyen yesterday (Radiation oncologist)  She’s pretty pleased with how things are going (as are we)…and told me that what I’m going through is pretty rough stuff and I’m tolerating it exceptionally well. I said I was lucky. I said MD Anderson was awesome. She said it was all me.

I’m not taking credit for doing well because if I do, I’ll have to take the blame if I crash.  There are lots of reasons things are going well…yes, my attitude, yes, my general health was good before I began, yes, I’m doing my best not to “live stupid” now, and of course, yes, there are lots of people supporting me, praying for me, sending good energy and good thoughts.  And then there’s Anne and Clark who have taken such  good care of us here.  And Chris and Jackie and Jill who look out for us (went out with Jackie yesterday to get a manicure and pedicure…pure luxury) and …well you get the picture.  So I’m lucky…

Lazy day.  I had Proton at 6:00 am but there’s nothing else on the schedule.  If I were home, I’d have lots to do but here, life is much simpler.  We have some laundry.  I need make a few phone calls.  I promised the people at Anderson I’d rework my “Unwelcome Thoughts” for their blog.  Other than that, not much on my plate.  Maybe I’ll take a nap.  it’s going to be that kind of day.

Tomorrow is the halfway mark in my six weeks of the Proton/chemo combo.  So far, so good.

15 thoughts on “Thirty-two Years Ago

  1. Happy Happy “Halfway” Mary!!

  2. So good to read your blog, Mary!

  3. Happy happy memories on this date for you and Jerry, and wishing for you a blessed day today. I am leaning so much from you and about you as I read and am so glad that I can still be a part of your life from so far away. You amaze me! “Stay warm” hugs!

  4. Oh Mary, what a gorgeous picture of Sean and Carly!! HB Sean! Today is my Dad’s birthday, he would have been 103. Tomorrow is little miss Kaylee’s birthday. So many great people born this week! Enjoy your off day. FINALLY finished The Goldfinch! We’ll talk! Miss you, Martha.

  5. Excellent news. You are doing so well…we’re all taking credit! Cold (50), sunny & windy. I’m at the kiosk in the park for another hour of duty. Have not made yoga all week, pure wimp! Keep up the good work

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  6. Isn’t it wonderful to have a lovely man as a son, another one as a husband?! Not to mention lovely daughter, Littles and sisters. There’s a reason you are surrounded by all these lovely people – family and friends alike. You are the glue, the focal point. SO very glad to hear that you are halfway, and so far, so good. Lots and lots of Things Going Right. May they continue. Hugs, hugs, wishes, thoughts, love, humor all coming your way every day. Shirley

  7. Wendie Highsmith

    Mary-What I have learned about you in reading your posts is that at your core you are a realist. You take life as it comes, the highs and the lows, and deal with them.
    This also means you are a credible adult, not a 60plus person caught back there in adolescence, nor a pollyanna.
    Because of this, you give huge pleasure and joy to your family and friends (and probably complete strangers). Bravo!
    Wendie

  8. Time goes by so fast !

    Loved reading your account of Sean’s birth.

    Very happy to hear that you’re halfway through your treatments, and hope the last half goes as well as the first.

  9. Happy Birthday Sean! I remember that year well as it was at the beginning of our friendship. My own son (and my baby Michael) was born a little more than 2 months later on April 6th in a blizzard that gave us 4 days off from school. This was lucky for me because Michael arrived early and my sick days had been carefully calculated. Anyway these are happy and fun memories. May we have many more. It’s great to hear you are doing so well. Love, Mary

  10. What a nice birthday message to your handsome son – all grown up and with such a lovely wife. And remembering that ride to the hospital 32 years ago, other milestone celebration for you – the half way mark with the proton therapy. Hooray! Love, Barb G.

  11. Yay halfway in the tunnel of treatment, also means halfway out 🙂

  12. So wonderful to hear that you are fairing so well at the half way mark. I always felt birthdays should be celebrated by the mothers too. Happy Birthday to Sean and his mama!

  13. Deirdre Christman

    Hello, proud mama. This is a great day for everyone: You because you have such a wonderful family and you’re halfway through treatment; us because we’re thrilled you’re doing so well. I just read the blog for MD Anderson and remember all the steps you went through before deciding on Houston. Good thing you did!!!

  14. Good thoughts continue to come your way! Glad to hear you are half way there!

  15. Half way there! Hope all continues to go smoothly. Continuous good thoughts and prayers coming your way.

Leave a Reply

