Weird New Side Effect and a Day at the Beach

On East Beach in Galveston

On East Beach in Galveston

Wonderful,wonderful day. But it didn’t start out quite so great. I woke up about 2:00 am and my head felt weird. Can’t describe it, just knew something wasn’t right. Didn’t worry much about it. Just went back to sleep. When I finally got out of bed at 7:30 to head for the bathroom, I found out something really was wrong. I was so off balance, so dizzy I was bouncing off furniture on my way across the room. Oops…this was NOT good. It wasn’t vertigo. And there wasn’t any nausea. It was as if I were very drunk (not that I would know what that felt like…oh wait, maybe I would know what that was like) Anyway, I concentrated very hard on making it to the bathroom without killing myself and then went into another room to (what else does anyone do when something weird happen) google “dizziness as a chemo effect”. Sure enough, it can happen…especially with oxalyplatin which I’ve been having. Or it could be just that I’m dehydrated and need more water.

A bit scary for poor Jerry who watched me weave my way down the hall bumping into the wall and holding onto the bannister for dear life going down for breakfast. Shower was a challenge…best to just lean against the wall and not bend over to pick up the facecloth that was was down to low to reach.

We went ahead with out plans for a trip to Galveston. I’ll say up front, it is NOT the best beach town in the world (run down, tired) nor is it the best beach in the world (Florida has those) but honestly ,it was a heavenly day. We walked on the beach (not too far since I needed to hold on to Jerry not to fall over), sat on a sea wall and watched huge ships coming in and going out, had a fabulous lunch at Fisherman’s Wharf (down by the cruise ships) poked around some shop, stopped to visit a gorgeous church (and crashed a wedding) and then headed back home. It was warm enough to be on the beach without our winter jackets (had on a sweater and fleece) and to eat outside. The weather forecast was for clouds, possible rain later in the afternoon but we saw lots of blue skies and sun. Just lucky,I guess.

I’m better…not perfect but not so bad as I was this morning. I probably could pass the “walk on this line” drunk test they give to drivers (do they still do that) if I concentrated really hard. I can get from one room to another without holding onto the wall…Maybe by tomorrow I’ll be able to walk and chew gum at the same time but don’t count on it.

I’m drinking lots of water. If the dizziness keeps up, I’ll check with the doctor or nurse on Monday when I go in for chemo. Actually it’s been one of my funnier side effects but it’s not so funny. If it keeps up, it means I can’t drive. Not a good thing!

Next field trip…NASA (Houston we have a problem) Some day next week or the week after. It’s going to get cold and I hear a lot is outside so we need weather that is at least 55 and NO WIND!

By the way, I love my new laptop. How else could I write a blog post lying on the couch while Jerry watches college football?

Sea wall near East Beach

Sea wall near East Beach

At Fisherman's Wharf for lunch.

At Fisherman’s Wharf for lunch.

Jerry at the sea wallJerry at the sea wall

23 thoughts on “Weird New Side Effect and a Day at the Beach

  1. Looking at those pics you’d never know you weren’t feeling well!

  2. Fetching shots of you in the pics, Mary. (Jerry, too.) Even with dizzy spells, your blogs are so informative – understanding a bit more each day what you are experiencing. Dizzy side effects? There you were, looking it up on the Internet, like all good teachers who tell their students to look things up. Just hang on to the walls, when needed! Love, Barb G.

  3. Exactly my thoughts, Jackie. And to top it off, you walk the beach and enjoy a fabulous lunch. You are unstoppable, Mary. Hope you feel better and rest up tomorrow. Good luck on Monday!!

  4. Wow, so sorry about the side effects. I wonder if you don’t force fluids in order to get residual chemo through your system. I used to have to do that when I had my treatments . Your pictures look beautiful and you would never know you were feeling do poorly. Hope you are better on the morning.

  5. That was SCARY!! Hope it was just due to dehydration and you are better tomorrow. As the others have said, you look marvelous! OK. you too, Jerry!

  6. Looks like a beautiful day!  Coldish here…in 50s at yoga with wind….no sun…cloudy…I was cold all day because I kept looking at the storm pics from Boston & then looking out at the gray skies and “feeling” for my friends.  It’ll warm up tomorrow with another cold blast coming Monday afternoon (the weathermen are talking “wind chill”….they’re so excited!)  Hopefully your dizziness will dissipate by tomorrow.  Keep us posted!

    Jerri! 521 Cedarwood Lane Venice, FL 34293)941-445-4118

    “Camping is nature’s way of promoting the motel business”.  Dave Barry

  7. You both are real troopers!

  8. Bless you!! Who else, feeling like crap. could post pictures in which you look lovely and amazing? Love you, Mary Ginley.

  9. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, these pictures. They are so you. And how about that Jerry. What a great support for you. I’ m sure seeing the two of you enjoying your day at the beach is a great comfort for Erin and Sean.

  10. Nina Metz, M.D.!

    Hi, Dizzy Lizzy…hope you’re feeling better. I hate that vertigo feeling! My advice: cool compress on your forehead, drink ginger ale, chew peppermint gum, and have a restful Sunday.

  11. I agree with Ann Marie, that the woman in the photo does not look weak or dizzy or like a thing is wrong! You are an example of counting the blessings and sharing the story and counting the blessings, in spite of discouraging symptoms. Good for you for not staying inside and for getting out to that beautiful place. You and Gerry are a pair!

  12. Just like a teacher, keep going, don’t lay down even when you don’t feel well. Even a shower too! Hope it passes soon.

  13. No wonder Erin became a photographer. You are so darn photogenic!

    My John has Lyme, as you know, and one of his symptoms is just as you describe. No balance, crashes into furniture. He can drive but when he gets out we have to look around to see that there are no police nearby. We’re afraid he’ll get stopped for a DUI check! It comes and goes and is gone more than present, thanks to the antibiotic. Here’s hoping this New Year will bring you both a nice steady path!

  14. Vertigo is the worst! Glad it passed and hope it never comes back.

  15. Deirdre Christman

    You look adorable – and so happy and healthy – in the photos by the beach. No one would ever know you have cancer or are å truly dizzy dame. Seriously, though, the dizziness is very worrisome. I had that when I first started Gabapentin for my post-herpetic neuralgia, and I thought I’d fall in the shower. I was afraid to get up at night. That went away after a week or so; let’s hope you have the same experience. Wishing you an easy session tomorrow and all the treatments to follow. Love you. Deirdre

  16. Whoa..dizziness IS a scary thing for sure. I can’t imagine how you were able to go to the beach, etc. Good for you! Most of us weaklings would stay in bed and hope it passes.
    I have positional vertigo and have had some scary moments. Worst attack occurred while I was driving. Luckily I was able to pull off the road until the episode passed.
    I’m hoping you’re not experiencing the “dizzies” today. Continue to move forward as you have been doing all along.

  17. The unexpected sun was for you……soaking in the rays, taking in the warmth, and visualizing, were meant just for you………..Marilyn

    P.S. on the practical side……allow Jerry to help you get about with this dizziness. I would hate to have you fall and get hurt. Sometimes we just have to let into that which we cannot control.

  18. I like everyone else look at your pics and think, she cant be sick. You look great. That wig was my favorite. Good luck this week and here’s hoping your side effects are manageable. Love you.

  19. It’s so good to see that you and Jerry are capturing some great moments together. Putting aside special time to explore the area makes your journey more of an adventure. We are going to get a little colder in FL too this week so snuggle down and stay warm.

  20. Oh, Mary…. you make me laugh and cry every time I read your posts. I am in awe of your physical appearance…girl, you look good! Your attitude amazes me and makes me feel grateful for my normal, boring life. I am learning a great deal about chemo that I never knew…your message today was quite humbling to be a healthy person who actually had the nerve to complain that my hair color isn’t “just right”. Thank you for bringing me back to reality. Praying for you every day…..much love. ♥

  21. Tammy’s right – your posts make me laugh and cry every time too. As I said in a previous comment, I just want to say DITTO to every single comment from your remarkable friends. Today is the start of a difficult schedule. I, along with the others, want you to know all the time that you are wrapped in our love, you are in our thoughts and hearts every minute. Sending so much love to both of you. xoxo

  22. Yes, I know how shallow this is going to make me sound, however, I can’t get over how beautiful you look, and going through all that you have-it must be your inner strength and love shining through, and least I forget, your wonderful sense of humor! You have helped me during rough times to try and stay strong and keep laughter in my life, thank you, xxoo

Leave a Reply

