Photo Shoot at the Lake

Erin has been wanting to do a family photo shoot ever since I was diagnosed.  We finally did it today.  The weather was good (in the low 60s) and there’s a great place on Grapevine Lake not far from their house.  So we got ourselves cleaned up and tried to get ourselves color coordinated (red was the color of the day) and headed to the lake for assorted shots of all of us, of Nana and Pop with the kids, of Nana and Pop with Erin and Sean, of just the kids, of the Ross family,  etc. Erin even managed to do some engagement photos for Sean and Carly.

I haven’t seen the results.  I’m sure Erin will “fix” them before we see anything…photoshop in a kid who isn’t looking at the camera, the one who has his eyes closed, etc….whatever she does to make things look right.  She bribed Declan who loves to stick out his tongue for photos these days.

“We need these for Nana, ” she told him. “Nana wants nice pictures.”

“Are you doing this because you think I’m going to die, ” I demanded, “because I plan on sticking around for a long time.”

“I wanted pictures anyway, and this is like insurance, ” she said.

“Like bringing an umbrella means it won’t rain, ” I said.

“Right,” says my daughter as she sets up the tripod and starts getting everyone organized.

The kids were dazzled with the location.  Yes, you may climb on the rocks AFTER you smile for ten thousand pictures.  No, you may not climb into tiny holes.  You might get stuck and there might be bears in there.

“Bears?”  says Lana.  “There are bears here? How could there be bears here?”

“Didn’t you ever see a water bear?” says Brent.  “They’re little and hide in cracks in the rocks.”

“If there aren’t any bears,” Erin told them.  “There probably are snakes.”

The kids did NOT try to crawl in any holes.

We took bets on who would fall in.  Most of us thought it would be Lana who is SO like me it’s scary.  She loves to climb but is so klutzy. They leapt from rock to rock like mountain goats while Brent kept an eye on them and Erin got photos of Sean and Carly.  Jerry and I went back to the car to order the food for dinner….my favorite…Italian from Bucca di Beppo.

Good news…no one fell in.  And they loved climbing on the rocks.  And I think Erin got some good pictures!  Except maybe of Declan who thinks smiling for pictures means gritting your teeth like a tiger and Lana who never EVER looks at a camera.

I’m doing fine.  I have a cough that won’t quit and need a nap by noon every day.  But I’m good for teaching card tricks and playing games and reading stories.  I told Lana that for the rest of the time I’m here she’s in charge of making sure I get out walking every day even if I whine and say I’m too tired (preferably before 11:00am)  I head to bed early (missed a major family card game last night that Carly and Calli won) and I’m the first one up in the morning (usually just read quietly downstairs until Calli shows up to snuggle).

Sean and Carly head home tomorrow.  We’ll miss them.  We’re at Erin’s until New Year’s Day.

We had hoped to come back every other weekend in January but my appointments aren’t making that easy…proton therapy every Friday evening, blood work every Monday mooring at 9:30.  Not the best schedule for someone trying to get to grandchildren five hours away.  I’ll try to move the blood work to Friday afternoon.  We’ll see if they’ll okay that. Then we could leave Houston early Saturday morning and come back very early Monday morning (if my faithful driver agrees!) for an 11:30 chemo.

Results of photo shoot will be in the next blog if Erin shares with me.  Until then, here’s the kids on the rocks.

Climbing the rocks at Grapevine Lake.

Climbing the rocks at Grapevine Lake.

13 thoughts on “Photo Shoot at the Lake

  1. Wow – that’s a huge lake, Mary. I can’t wait to see those wonderful pictures in the next blog! Love, Barb G.

  2. Sounds like you’re having a fabulous time with your kids/grandkids! Glad they decided to stay out of the holes…could be anything in there! The picture is great. Can’t wait to see the family pics!
    I hope you have a wonderful New Year, one filled with only good things and many blessings!
    Pam G

  3. Gary & Suzanne White

    Beautiful! You, the kids, old and young, Jerry! What a wonderful day! And, CONGRATULATIONS to Sean and Carly!

  4. Quite a lake for sure. Certainly great bait for the kids. Can’t wait to see the products of the camera.
    What wonderful moments you are getting to have with the family; definitely treasures for everyone. Brings smiles to all faces, I’m sure…especially yours.
    Enjoy the rest of your stay. You can never get or give enough snuggling or kisses.

  5. Mary,
    Sounds like you had a terrific family time over Christmas. How wonderful. Happy new year and many blessings for 2014.
    Mary

  6. Can’t wait to see the family photos!!!!!

  7. The lake is a beautiful place to have the pictures taken. Good for Erin to round everyone up for the family shoot and also the engagement pictures. Carly looks like she is a Ginley already. As I said before, there’s lots of love in that home!!!! Blessings for the New Year for everyone….. That covers everything – good health, happiness, and love!

  8. I’m exhausted just reading this…u must have more energy than u realize. Took a 6 a.m. Flight from Memphis to Tampa today…short nap this afternoon, pizza with friends tonight. I’m wiped & headed for bed…hope u r doing the same!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • I hope Erin shares the pictures with you so you can share with us. The boys left on Friday. We had a great time while they were here. The week just flew by. Sam helped me with all my techno issues and Scott helped his Dad move things around-man is that kid strong! He is built like a football player-and eats like one too! It is raining today, so I think I am going to curl up with a good book. I think of you every day, my friend. Love, G.

  9. I saw one picture that Erin posted on FB and you all look great! Mary, I would need to nap if I did all that you do every day! I’m tired just reading about it all! Rest dear friend and let people wait on you! Xoxo

  10. I hope they let you adjust your appointments…nothing like a grandchild hugs to cure what ails you. Be well. Xo
    Karen

  11. Mary,
    Thank you for including me to receive your blog! You are an inspiration for us all. The pictures are just lovely…what a happy, vibrant family. Many blessings in the New Year…
    Best,
    Lynne

  12. I think it was Roald Dahl that said it best……children are a lot better at keeping safe than their parents realize (or something like that). Did you know that every time someone thinks of you, their energy is sent your way. Think of you a lot……

Leave a Reply

