Traveling West

We’re driving to Texas. The car is loaded with “stuff” … for a week, for months. We’ve never learned the art of packing light. Poor Anne… She’s going to think we’ve moved in for life when we arrive later on this afternoon.

i have appointments at Anderson tomorrow and Thursday. Then, the schedule is blank. Based on the records and DVDs of the the PET  and CT scans and the tests they do themselves (which includes a repeat endoscopy) they’ll come up with a treatment plan and meet with us to talk.

Things going right…everything ..no flat tires, no traffic, gorgeous day to drive .  I did have my meltdown just before we closed up the house. Just cried and cried. I love my life in Florida and all of a sudden I got scared that I might not get back to it. Stopped sniffling by the time we left Venice. Poor Jerry…I’m going to owe him big time when this is all over.

12 thoughts on “Traveling West

  1. Miss you already Mary (OK, you too Jerry). Glad to hear the trip is going well. Just wanted to say “Hi!”

  2. I know you’ll keep being your strong, funny, and incredible self. You’re in my thoughts all the time.

  3. I find that whining when I’m overwhelmed is very healing. Safe travels my dear friend!!

  4. “Poor Jerry” doesn’t want to be anywhere else in the world, I’ll just bet on that, even though I don’t know him – I know you. And boy, is he an example of things going RIGHT! Mary, you’ve got all the basics right – family and spirit.

  5. You are one of the strongest women I know Mary! We are all sending you love and prayers! Keep your head up and stay the positive woman you are.

  6. I’m Keeping you in my thoughts, Mary, and wishing you many long lists of ‘What’s gong right!’ xo!!

  7. Normal reaction! For awhile the other day, I thought u were WAY too cheery for someone facing a rough road. Cloudy here, cold front on its way….BUT it’s snowing in Boston!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  8. I’m sure Jerry feels no greater purpose than to be by your side, through sickness and as your health returns, to enjoy your piece of heaven on earth together.

  9. Mary, sounds like a natural reaction to me….but remember they said you would not die from this…I hope you can come home very soon knowing you can get the same treatment here. And if you can’t get it here, I am so glad you value yourself enough to take yourself out to where you need to be!!! Keep us up to date…we are all cheering for you. xoxo

  10. Sometimes strength is not in not letting emotions take over. That’s what makes us human. Thoughts and prayers are with you.
    XOXOX

  11. Deirdre Christman

    Thank god you had a meltdown, or I’d wonder if you were human. It’s good to express sadness, fear, and anger. And don’t worry: Jerry knows that while he can’t take the burden from you, he can help you carry it. Perhaps the only good thing about this illness is that you can really see what a wonderful family you have. Sending good thoughts your way. Hope you’re back sooner than you think!

  12. weaverama@juno.com

    You probably know this..but there are a lot of people back in Venice that are going on this journey with you. Thanks for sharing. Tori

    On Tue, 12 Nov 2013 18:03:04 +0000 Looking for the Light writes: maryginley posted: “We’re driving to Texas. The car is loaded with “stuff” … for a week, for months. We’ve never learned the art of packing light. Poor Anne… She’s going to think we’ve moved in for life when we arrive later on this afternoon. i have appointments at Ande”

Leave a Reply

