New Beginnings

When I began teaching in Florida I was so overwhelmed and so terrified, I didn’t think I’d make it through the first year.  Friday night emails got me through.  I vented, I laughed, I told my stories. And I survived six years.  This time around, I’m going to try a blog.  Because I am technologically challenged, this may take some doing, especially at the beginning.

As most of you know, I’ve been diagnosed with esophageal cancer.  (Who ever heard of THAT??)  The big indicator that something was wrong was that I had trouble swallowing.  The news has been good…Yes, it has spread but only to one lymph node.  Yes, the treatment is NOT fun and yes, I need to move fast.  But NO, I’m not so far gone that I will be dying any time soon.  Staging is not done.

Jerry and I have met with Venice Oncology and love the people there…smart and kind.  We’re heading to Houston to MD Anderson for a second opinion on Monday.  Anderson is one of the top places in the country to deal with this type of cancer.  Just make sense to see what they have to say.  We may stay there for treatment or come back home.

And so I begin again…a new chapter in my life… believing that writing and sharing will pull me through.  I’ll probably vent and laugh and cry and tell my stories.  It has always helped because I do know what I think after I see what I say.  And so it begins. And obviously I plan to survive a lot longer than six years!

Maui May 2013

Maui May 2013

14 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. Mary, I love the idea of the blog and love the title (it’s perfect). And as you blog, and we read, know that we are all with you in this experience; laughing with you, crying with you, checking out the hot docs in oncology and cheering you on!
    Much love!!!

  2. We will all hold your hand as you travel this difficult journey. Xo

  3. Thank you, Mary, for inviting me to share in your journey. You are a brave woman and I am proud
    to be called a friend.

  4. Mary, I cant believe you were ever terrified of teaching in Florida. You were the picture of calm. And such a great teacher. I am so lucky I got to work with you. I hate that you have to endure treatment for esophageal cancer. But I am happy that your docs say it is treatable and that you will come out the other side well.

  5. Ha, Tennley. I was afraid they’d fire me the first few years. Then I realized that no matter how much I bucked the system, they weren’t going to fire me because who else would take Josh?

    • Oh Mary, you crack me up! Josh! You are right! He was job security! I love your sense of humor. I would love to come hang out with you on the beach sometime during your treatment…

  6. Mary,
    Thank you for inviting me too! I remember you talking about the Friday night emails. I couldn’t wait to start getting them too! We all remember Josh! You are a strong woman and a good decision maker. You will do great. We will be your support every day! Hope you got the email with my funny story!

  7. So glad to be included. You write just like you talk. I love it! Beautiful photos too. Let me know if you need anything. Love you!

  8. Mary, it seems like our lives have been involved since I taught Sean at Glenbrook, and then heard you call my name in the hall at Cranberry! I’ve always admired you and continue to do so. You are a survivor and an inspiration to all. You have so many prayers that heaven will refuse to let you in until you have spread them around. So, we will all keep praying.

    • Oh Suzanne, Sean had such a crush on you. It’s been fun, through the years. Your were the best sub anyone could wish for and you’ve given me such good advice since I retired. I’ll be back looking for sub jobs before you know it. Thanks for your kind, kind words

  9. Thanks Mary for inviting me to share this journey with you through your newly created blog. We have traveled a lot of roads together – you supporting me much of the time. Once again, you inspire so many and lead the way. We will pray together, laugh and cry together, and celebrate together. You are a strong woman, a fighter, and a wonderful example to all. Be well dear friend- you will be victorious once again!

  10. Thanks for inviting me to go with you on your journey. You were there for me-and still are- and I will be with you in thoughts and prayers. Anyone who could survive Josh, will beat this cancer. Remember, don’t be surprised if you run into Sam. Maybe we all could get together and spend a day on the beach with you.
    Love ya, G.

  11. Mary, this is perfect for you – and for all of us who love you, who are honored by being on this journey with you. Honored to be your friend. Your spirit is so strong, so optimistic, so beautiful, so amazing! I hate it that this is going to be hard, but I also have zero doubt of the outcome. We’re all in this with you. love, Shirley

Leave a Reply

